Thursday, June 20, 2024

Liangmai FC to clash with Red Scars FC in 23rd NSF MM Trophy final today

NSF MM Trophy

Kohima, October 13: Liangmai Football Club and Red Scars FC will clash in the final of the prestigious 23rd NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy organized by Angami Students’ Union (ASU) at Indira Gandhi Stadium here.
The final match will be held at 4:30 p.m. with Nagaland Football Association president K. Neibou Sekhose as the special guest.
Both the teams have entered into the final of NSF trophy for the first time and their road to finals are as follows:
Liangmai FC defeated Knight Sporting Club, Chozuba by 2-0 in the preliminary round while in the second match they humiliated Tiema Khe Kidima by 7-0 and in the quarter final Liangmai thrashed End of an Era by 6-2.
Notably, in the semi final for Liangmai FC shattered the dreams of local favourites and defending champion New Market FC by a solitary goal.
On the other hand, Red Scars, a local team composed of some experienced players, humiliated All Nagaland 2 Wheelers Taxi Association by 6-0 in the first round and they overcame Viswemi FC by 2-0 in the second round.

Liangmai FC
In the quarter final, Red Scars won against visiting team from Manipur, Football for Change Academy (F4C) by 2-0 while in the semi finals they knocked United FC Piphema by 3-1.
Meanwhile, the almost month long tourney played in memory and honour of students’ martyrs’ in honour of students martyrs’ Late Kekuojalie Sachü and Late Vikhozo Yhoshü on theme ‘Goal for Peace’ commenced on September 18 with 34 teams – 31 from Nagaland and 3 from Manipur.
Players to be watched in the final are: Yhunshalo Kemp (9) of Red Scars who is currently the second highest scorer of the tourney with seven goals and Kawijibo (17) of Liangmai FC in third place with 6 goals. Either of them have the opportunity of becoming the highest scorers if they manage to add at least 3 & 4 goals respectively. Yhoto of A Yhome FC with 9 goals is currently the highest scorer.
So far 148 goals have been scored in 32 matches out of which there are 13 individual hat-trick scorers while 22 players were cautioned with yellow card and 2 penalised with red card for unsporting behaviour.
The champion of the tournament will receive a whooping cash award of Rs 2.50 lakh with a running trophy and citation, runners-up will get Rs 1.50 lakh with citation while two losing semi-finalists will get Rs 35,000 each and four losing quarter finalists will get Rs 20,000 each.
In the individual awards – Best Goal, Best Midfielder, Best Defender & Highest Scorer – Rs 10,000 each with trophy and citation and the Player of the Tournament will get a scooty.
(Page News Service)