Kolkata Knight Riders run over Delhi Daredevils


Kolkata Knight Riders defeated Delhi Daredevils by 71 runs in their IPL 2018 clash in Kolkata on Monday.

Kolkata, April 17: It was Gautam Gambhir who had stood by Nitish Rana when the latter was sent back home after failing in three matches in the Vijay Hazare Trophy in 2017. On Monday, the Delhi Daredevils skipper watched proudly as Rana played a fantastic knock to help Kolkata Knight Riders return to winning ways by beating Delhi Daredevils by 71 runs at the Eden Gardens here on Monday.
In spite of a slow start, the hosts, who were asked to bat first by Gambhir, managed to put up a handsome tally of 200/9 on the board. Although the visitors maintained a good run rate initially, they fizzled out after losing wickets at regular intervals and were bowled out for 129 runs 14.2 overs.
DD began the chase badly, losing last-match hero Jason Roy in the first over, being stumped by Dinesh Karthik off a leg side wide bowled by Piyush Chawla. They next lost Shreyas Iyer and Gambhir in consecutive overs, with India U-19 pacer Shivam Mavi picking up his maiden IPL wicket by having the former KKR skipper bowled.
Except for a 33-ball, 62-run fourth-wicket stand between Rishab Pant (43; 26b, 7×4, 1×6) and Glenn Maxwell (47; 22b, 3×4, 4×6), no other batsman could stay in the middle for long to force things in DD’s favour.
The match was lost when they lost Pant, Rahul Tewati, Maxwell and Chris Morris, coming in place of Dan Christian, in consecutive overs. Sunil Narine returned among wickets, picking up 3/18 from his three overs. (TNN)