Thursday, May 6, 2021

Kikruvilie Zumu is NASA Group D wrestling champion

Kohima, January 22: Kikruvilie Zumu from Tuophema village emerged wrestling champion of the 28th Northern Angami Sports Association (NASA) Group D. In the final bout, Zumu knocked reigning champion from Gariphema village, Zakiebeituo Kire.
NASA Group-D comprising of 12 villages organised its 28th wresting meet at Teichüma village local ground, about 10 kms away from Botsa village and hosted by the Teichüma Village Youth & Sports Organisation. The wrestling meet was held for two categories – senior with 32 participants and junior with 25 participants on January 22.
Zumu received Rs 30,000, runners-up Zakiebeituo Kire received Rs 20,000 while Kevibou Kense and Kezhabou Zumu, both also from Touphema village, received Rs 15,000 and Rs. 10,000 as third and fourth place winners respectively.
For Under-16 category, Pezanei-u Pielie from Gariphe Basa took the title, while Ruokuovor Kaco from Tuophema village, Neisakhotuo Thevo from Seiyhama village and Shürhosielie Khana from Gariphema village stood 2nd, 3rd and 4th position respectively. They received cash prize of Rs 8,000, Rs 5000, Rs 3000 and Rs 2000 respectively.
Earlier, Special Officer to chief minister, Neibalie Rio, as special guest of the inaugural programme, said Nagas are genetically strong physically, and the traditional game of wrestling is participated by the fittest and the strongest.
Describing wrestling as the most popular, loved and watched game, he emphasised on the need to more efforts towards popularising the game. Rio also maintained that though the game is popular, there is a dearth of professional wrestlers and lack of consistency among the wrestlers. Towards this end, he impressed upon the need for young and upcoming wrestlers to maintain consistency to succeed in the state and beyond.
The constitution of the NASA Group-D was released by Dr. Kevizakie Rio who is also the convenor of the drafting committee.
Altogether 15 wrestlers from NASA Group-D will be representing the group in the NASA Wrestling Meet 2020.
(Page News Service)