Kevilekho Zumvu wins 17th Nagaland state chess championship


Winners of 17th Nagaland state chess championship 2018 with NCA officials in Kohima on July 6.

Kohima, Jul 6: Kevilekho Zumvu emerged the winner of 17th Nagaland State Chess Championship organized by Nagaland Chess Association at Red Cross Conference Hall here.
Sukhavi Achumi, Melesayi Dawhuo and Akhrietuo Kesieyie stood 2nd, 3rd and 4th position winners respectively. The top four players under open category will represent the state at the forthcoming National Open Chess Championship this year.
In the Under 17 year category – Nipeto Hesso bagged the champion title while Suliki Awomi, Sedevituo Rio, Munu L. Yim, Heudiywanybe Meru and Kibeto Awomi stood 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th respectively.
In Under 14 category – Intovi K. Awomi bagged the champion title. Shinikali Hesso, Kunvuto Awomi, Pulonoto Hesso, Neikezhazo Rio and Uzholu Nyekha stood 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th position respectively.
NCA president P. Khezhie gave away prizes to the winners while the participation of youngest player (6-year-old) Jitihto Nyekha was also acknowledged during the valedictory function held this evening.
NCA treasurer Ropfüvilie Nagi chaired the function while NCA general secretary Hekugha Yeputhomi delivered welcome address.
All India Chess Federation approved Chief Arbiter Mughaho Awomi declared the results.
Search Committee convenor K. Sekhamo announced the new team of NCA for 2018-21 to be headed by Minister for Planning & Coordination and Land Revenue, Neiba Kronu as president. Other office bearers include; vice president- Mughaho Awomi and Visanyiizo Kuotsu, honorary secretary- Hekugha Yeputhomi, joint secretary- Vekukho Soho, Kevilekho Zumvu and Kiyaselie Mere, treasurer- Ropfüvilie Nagi.
The executive members will include – P. Khezhie, K. Sukhamo, Sukhavi Achumi, Sede Nagi and S.I. Toshi.
(Page News Service)