Sunday, April 14, 2024

Kevilekho Zumvu is 18th Nagaland State Chess champion


Mezivolu & Jitihto wins U-18 and U-14 categories

Kohima, April 1: The 18th Nagaland State Chess Championship organized by Nagaland Chess Association concluded today with Kevilekho Zumvu emerging champion in the open category while Mezivolu Veswu and Jitihto Nyekha bagged the top positions in Under-18 and Under-14 categories.

The final results of the championship, which began on March 29 and held at The Heritage here are:
Under 14: 1st – Jitihto Nyekha of Westside School Dimapur Rs.10,000 & Trophy, Runners-up: Pulonito Hesso of Coraggio School Kohima got Rs.7000 & Trophy, 2nd Runner-up : Shurhozhalie Sabastian Solo of St. Mary Cathedral Higher Secondary School, Kohima of Rs.5000 & Trophy; 4th – Kereilhulie Nagi of Minister’s Hill Baptist Hr. School Kohima got Rs. 3000 and 5th Manas Sharma of Hope Academy School Dimapurbgot Rs. 2000.
Under-18: 1st – Muzivolu Veswu of Westside School Dimapur got Rs. 10,000 & Trophy; 2nd – Kunvuto Awomi of Coraggio School Kohima Rs. 7000 with Trophy; 3rd – Mughakishe Awomi of Holy Family School. Kohima Rs. 5000 with Trophy; 4th Intovi Awomi of Holy Family School. Kohima Rs. 3000; 5th Kaboto Awomi of Holy Family School. Kohima.Rs.2000.
Open Category: 1st Kevilekho Zumvu got Rs.50,000 with Trophy; 2nd Mughaho Awomi with Rs. 30,000 + Trophy; 3rd Khrielie Sano Rs. 20,000 + Trophy; 4th Seyiekhrietuo Mere Rs. 10,000, while from 5th to 10th rank, that ie Salhuto Nyekha, Akhrietuo Keseyie, Hekugha Yepthomi, Toivi Yeptho, Pikuto Chishi amd Ketholelie Nisa respectively got Rs 5,000 each.
Other awards include:
Best Female Player – Shenikali Hesso of Coraggio School, Kohima got Rs.5000
Best 60 years & above: Sedi Nagi Rs. 5000
Only Female Player in Open Category: Tsesam Rs. 2000
Nagaland Minister for Planning & Cooperation, Land Revenue and Parliamentary Affairs, Neiba Kronu who is also the president of NCA gave away the prizes to the winners.
Minister Kronu to continue as NCA Prez
Nagaland Minister for Planning & Cooperation, Land Revenue and Parliamentary Affairs, Neiba Kronu will continue as the president of Nagaland Chess Association (NCA) for the second term.
Kronu along with others were nominated for the tenure 2021-24 on the last day of the 18th Nagaland State Chess Championship in Kohima today. It was announced by selection committee led by Helie Rüpreo.

Other officer beares are: Vice- Presidents – Pele Khezhie and Toikhu Awomi; General Secretary – Mughaho Awomi, Joint Secretaries – Vekukho Soho, Ropfuvilie Nagi & Bovito Yeputho and Treasurer – Kiyaselie Mere while Advisor will be K. Sekhamo.
(Page News Service)