Saturday, June 15, 2024

IPL 2023 Qualifier 1: Riding the yellow wave, Super Kings enter 10th final

IPL 2023 Qualifier 1
Chennai Super Kings’ Ruturaj Gaikwad plays a shot in a match against Gujarat Titans in the 1st qualifier of Indian Premier League 2023, at M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, in Chennai on May 23. | Photo Credit: ANI

Chennai, May 24: M.S. Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings reached a record 10th IPL final in 14 seasons after a 15-run win over Gujarat Titans in Qualifier 1 at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium on May 23.
To their credit, the Titans fought hard. But as so many have found before them, the game at Chepauk ultimately seemed to bend itself around the man wearing the No. 7 yellow jersey, who is now just a breath away from a fifth IPL title. GT will face the winner of the Eliminator in Qualifier 2 on May 26.
Early dismissal
Titans lost Wriddhiman Saha to Deepak Chahar (two for 29) early in the 173-run chase. Hardik Pandya came up at No. 3 but holed out to backward point off Maheesh Theekshana in the last over of the PowerPlay.
Dhoni had put an extra fielder just a ball prior, to packing the off-side and forcing the batters to go aerial.
Dasun Shanaka was promoted to target Theekshana, which he did. But Theekshana had the last laugh when he caught his Sri Lankan skipper in the 11th over, trying to reverse-sweep Ravindra Jadeja (two for 18).
Meanwhile, Shubman Gill looked like he was batting on a different pitch, but with Jadeja’s dismissal of David Miller making it 85 needed off 42, Gill had to go after the bowling.
Dhoni brought Chahar back into the attack in the 14th over, and he got Gill with a slower short ball.
Vijay Shankar and Rashid Khan raised hopes, but Ruturaj Gaikwad’s diving catch at deep midwicket sent Vijay Shankar back and sealed GT’s fate.
Lucky reprieve
Earlier, bowling first, GT’s Darshan Nalkande, replacing Yash Dayal, struck in his first over, but it was called a no-ball. Ruturaj, batting on two off seven celebrated the reprieve with two back-to-back boundaries.
The CSK openers took 22 off Nalkande’s first two overs, forcing Hardik to turn to Rashid (1/37) and Noor Ahmad (1/29) for an over each inside the first six overs.
Ruturaj drove the full-length balls from Rashid to the fence before flaying a cut behind the point in Mohit Sharma’s first over, the ninth of the innings.
Mohit had his revenge in his next over when Ruturaj miscued a pull to be caught on 60. Shivam Dube’s move up to No. 3 did not pay off, as he was clean bowled by a googly from Noor for just one run.
The slowness of the pitch made strokeplay difficult, and Devon Conway was eventually caught for a laborious 34-ball 40. But Jadeja and Moeen Ali’s cameos helped Super Kings set up a target that eventually helped them become the first team to qualify for the final. (Agencies)