Sunday, March 26, 2023

High-power JD (U) peace mission to visit Nagaland on June 29

Nagaland News

KOHIMA, JUNE 23: Amid uncertainty looming over the Naga peace process due to impasse in the talks, a team of JD (U) peace mission will visit Nagaland on June 29.
According to the Janata Dal (United) 6-Member High Power Delegation will visit the State. They are: Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lalan Singh, National President, JD (U) and MP (Lok Sabha) & Leader of the JD (U) in Lok Sabha, as well as Chairman, Parliamentary Board on Energy, Afaque Ahmed Khan, National General Secretary Northeast In-charge and Member of Legislative Council, Bihar, Harshvardhan Singh, National General Secretary, JD (U), Kaushalendra Kumar, MP (Lok Sabha), Ramprit Mandal, Hon’ble MP (Lok Sabha) and Aneel Prasad Hegde, MP (Rajya Sabha).
The purpose of the team’s visit is to pay tribute to Jaya Prakash Narayan, who was a member of Peace Mission in Nagaland which brokered ceasefire between the Government of India and Naga National Council/Federal Government of Nagaland (NNC/FGN) in 1964. He is also a founding member of Janata Dal.
“It may be recalled that Jaya Prakash Narayan ~ lovingly called JP ~ had traversed many length and breadth of the Naga areas as Member of Peace Mission in the 1960s to understand the pulse of the Naga people and their political movement for independence. It was the ardent desire of JP who conveyed to the Indian Government of the day that a displeased Nagas at the border would be very detrimental to the interest of India. Hence, solution must be found”, the State unit of JD (U) press release issued by President Senchumo NSN Lotha and General Secretary Kitoho S Rotokha said.
The team will also pay a visit to the graveyard of former NNC President, AZ Phizo at Nagaland Secretariat. They will also meet Naga civil society organizations and address the press before leaving for New Delhi.
Over the years, the JD (U) has been vocal on resolving the protracted Naga political problem.
The Nagaland Peace Mission comprised former Assam Chief Minister, Bimala Prasad Chaliha, veteran freedom fighter Jayaprakash Narayan and a prominent clergyman from England, Rev. Michael Scott. Their effort led to signing of ceasefire between the Government of India and NNC/FGN on September 6, 1964. The mission was formed by the Nagaland Baptist Church Council (NBCC) to restore peace in Nagaland when there was virtually a war between the Indian security forces and the “Naga army”.
(Page News Service)