Guv appoints Rio as CM; Swearing in on March 8

Guv appoints Rio as CM; Swearing in on March 8

Kohima, March 6: Nagaland Governor, PB Acharya today appointed Neiphiu Rio as the new Chief Minister of the State and invited him to form the new Government under his leadership.
The Governor also requested Neiphiu Rio to prove his majority on the floor of the House on or before March 16.
In a letter addressed to Rio, the Governor stated that he has received letters of support in his favour from 12 legislators of BJP, one each JD(U) and Independent MLA besides NDPP legislatures.
In this, the Governor has proposed to administer the oath of office and secrecy to the Council of Minister on March 8 at 11:30 am at Local Ground Kohima.
Meanwhile, the Governor has accepted the resignation submitted by Chief Minister TR Zeliang and his council of ministers today.
In a letter addressed to the Governor, the Chief Minister tendered resignation of the Council of Ministers headed by him.
However, the Governor has requested Zeliang to continue in office till an alternative arrangement was made.
Earlier, officials from the Election Commission of India along with the Chief Electoral Officer, Nagaland, Abhijit Sinha submitted the notification constituting the 13th Nagaland Legislative Assembly to the Governor of Nagaland, PB Acharya at Raj Bhavan Kohima following which the Governor dissolved the 12th Nagaland Legislative Assembly.
During the day, Union Minister for Health and Family Welfare, Jagat Prakash Nadda along with BJP national General Secretary Arun Singh, the 12 newly elected BJP MLAs, BJP State President BJP Visasolie Lhoungu and others also called on the Governor and submitted the letter of support including the signatures of all 12 BJP MLAs to the leadership of Neiphiu Rio in the formation of the new government in the State.
The BJP legislators also informed the Governor that Y Patton has been elected as the BJP Legislature Party leader for the 13th House.
National Peoples’ Party (NPP) Nagaland President, Ato Yepthomi along with newly elected NPP MLA, and General Secretary NDPP, Benjamin also submitted letter of support to the NDPP-BJP Chief Ministerial candidate Neiphiu Rio.
However, the Governor has instructed the State NPP to submit a letter of support signed by their National President and also the support signatures of both the MLAs at the earliest.
Interacting with media persons outside Raj Bhavan, Ato Yepthomi confirmed that they have decided to extend support to the NDPP-BJP alliance.
In the recently concluded Nagaland Assembly Elections, the ruling NPF had managed to win 26 seats while NDPP-BJP alliance had got 30 seats and also has the support of two NPP MLAs and one each JD(U) and Independent MLA. (Page News Service)