Thursday, September 23, 2021

Five-on-five football tourney kicked off


Dimapur, September 14: The Dimapur qualifiers of Red Bull Neymar Jr’s Five, a five-on-five football tournament, kicked off at City Futsal, Orchid Grounds, Dimapur on September 11.

A press release from the organisers on Tuesday informed that 28 teams participated in the city qualifier. In the final match, Spartan FC played Blitz FC and won the game 2-0 to grab a place and represent Dimapur in the national finals in the last week of September 2021.
Red Bull Neymar Jr’s Five 2021 city qualifiers was held across 18 cities in the country including Indore, Ahmedabad, Jaipur, Bangalore, Lucknow, Pune, Kolkata, Chennai, Siliguri, Mumbai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Jalandhar, Dimapur, Bhubaneswar, Kochi, Chandigarh and Goa.

The winning teams will then compete at the Red Bull Neymar Jr’s Five national finals in September 2021 for a chance to make it to the Red Bull Neymar Jr’s Five 2021 World Finals in Qatar. It is the biggest 5-a-side football tournament in the country in-terms of locations & participants, the organisers stated. (Page News Service)