Tuesday, May 18, 2021
Top Stories

Fate of 8 candidates to be decided on Tuesday

Nagaland News

Counting for bye-election to start at 8 a.m.

KOHIMA, NOVEMBER 9: A three-tier security arrangements have been put in place for the smooth counting of votes on Tuesday for the two Assembly segments in Nagaland which went to polls on November 3.

The bye-polls to the 14-Southern Angami-I in Kohima district and 60-Pungro-Kiphire Assembly Constituencies in Kiphire district was necessitated after the seat became vacant following the demise of the sitting MLAs – then Speaker Vikho-o Yhoshü of the ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party and Opposition Naga People’s Front (NPF) MLA T Torechu.
Two counting centres have been arranged – one each in the respective District Election Officer-cum-Deputy Commissioner’s official complex of Kiphire and Kohima districts, said Chief Electoral Officer Nagaland, Abhijit Sinha.
Counting will start at 8 a.m. in one hall for the 22 polling stations of Southern Angami-I seat and two halls for 77 polling stations of Pungro-Kiphire Assembly segment, he said.
Sufficient security including CAPF, Indian Reserve Battalion and Nagaland Armed Police will be deployed to thwart any untoward incident, he said, adding that the innermost cordon would be manned by CAPFs.
All protocols for preventing the spread of COVID-19 will be followed during the counting process, Sinha said.
Both the counting centres will be disinfected before the start of counting, he said, adding that anybody entering the counting centre will be thermally screened.
Carrying cases of EVMs and VVPATs will also be sanitized before placing on the counting tables, he said.
Southern Angami-I A/C had 13,588 voters while Pungro-Kiphire had 29,500 electorates.
A total of 89.34% electorates exercised their franchise with Southern Angami-I having 84.49% voter turnout while Pungro-Kiphire had 91.57% electorates casting their votes.
Altogether 8 candidates – 4 each from political parties and Independents keenly fought the polls.
Three candidates including ruling NDPP nominee Medo Yhokha, Opposition NPF Kikovi Kirha and Independent Seyievilie Peter Zashumo vied for the 14-Southern Angami-I seat.
For 60-Pungro-Kiphire seat, 5 persons including Khaseo Anar of Congress, Lirimong Sangtam of BJP and 3 Independents – K Shellumthong, T Yangseo Sangtam and Kiusumew Yimchunger were in the fray.
(Page News Service)