ECI modifies poll timings in 309 polling stations


Dimapur, May 22: The Election Commission of India has modified the poll timing for 309 polling stations in nine districts. Poll timing will be from 7 am to 3 pm for 22 polling stations in Peren, 13 in Phek, 40 in Mokokchung, 3 in Zunheboto, 78 in Wokha, 93 in Mon, 13 in Longleng, 23 in Tuensang and 24 in Kiphire under 1-Nagaland parliamentary constituency.
Polling parties to these polling stations, also known as P-2 polling stations, have to move out from the dispersal centre (District Hq.) two days prior to the date of poll. In all other polling stations, the poll timing will remain the same.
The Commissioner, Nagaland & Returning Officer for 1-Nagaland Parliamentary Constituency Motsuthung Patton has informed this modification to the two political parties concerned and to the contesting candidates.
Kohima: The Election Commission of India has approved the shifting of polling station building location from Electrical Hydel Store to GMS Forest Colony in respect of polling station No.36 Agri/Electrical Colony-II under 9-Kohima Town assembly constituency.
The Chief Electoral Officer, Nagaland has received the approval from the ECI on May 18.
Wokha: Expenditure observer for the bye-election to the Nagaland parliamentary constituency Tsewang Tharchin, IAS visited Wokha and held a coordination meeting with the Election Expenditure Monitoring Team of the District in the DC conference hall on Tuesday.
During the interaction Tharchin speak on role and responsibility of the expenditure monitoring team on how to maintain proper records as they are the eyes and ears of the commission for monitoring of an election expenditure of a particular candidate and a political party for a successful electoral process of the country.
The coordination meeting was attended by Flying Squad Team, Video Surveillance, Video Viewing, Accounting, Nodal Officers, and Media Certification and Monitoring Committee (MCMC).
Zunheboto: Deputy Commissioner Zunheboto, Tribibesh Roy, IAS has directed arms license holder within Zunheboto district to deposit their arms at the nearest police station within one week to ensure free and fair election for the upcoming by-election to Lok Sabha.
Roy informed that all the fire arms and weapons deposited are to be kept in safe custody of the respective police station till one week after result declaration or till the election process is over.
He further issued prohibition of carrying of arms within Zunheboto jurisdiction for any purpose other than the purpose of verification or deposit of arms, failing to comply with this order will lead to cancellation of licensed arms or any apt action as per rule in force.
In a separate order the DC informed all the owners and drivers of vehicle requisitioned for election duty for upcoming by-election to the Lok Sabha to collect Election Duty Certificate (EDC) form from his office on or before May 25 so as to allow the concerned to exercise their franchise. He also informed them to bring a copy of requisition order and EPIC or electoral details.
The DC & DEO reminded all the drivers and handyman to report to the local ground, Zunheboto on May 25 at 8 am.
The DC also informed that there would be no postal ballot for this upcoming by-election.
Kiphire: Deputy Commissioner & Assistant Returning Officer, Kiphire, Mohammed Ali Shihab, IAS has notified that as per modification made by the Election Commission of India (ECI) the poll timing is from 7 am to 3 pm for all P-2 polling station in the District for the ensuing by-election to 1-Nagaland Parliamentary Constituency.
(Page News Service)