Saturday, June 22, 2024

EC announces by-polls in 13 Assembly seats in 7 States on July 10

NEW DELHI, JUNE 10: The Election Commission on Monday announced by-polls to 13 Assembly constituencies across 7 States, including 4 in West Bengal, on July 10.
The by-polls are to be held against vacancies created either due to deaths or resignation of incumbent members.
The Assembly seats going for by-polls are Rupauli (Bihar), Raiganj, Ranaghat Dakshin, Bagda and Maniktala (all West Bengal), Vikravandi (Tamil Nadu), Amarwara (Madhya Pradesh), Badrinath and Manglaur (Uttarakhand), Jalandhar West (Punjab) and Dehra, Hamirpur and Nalagarh (Himachal Pradesh).
The notification for the elections will be issued on June 14, the last date for filing of nomination papers is June 21, the poll papers will be scrutinised on June 24 and the last date for withdrawal of nomination papers is June 26.
The by-polls will be held on July 10 and the counting of votes will be on July 13.
The Election Commission said the by-polls have to be completed before July 15. (PTI)