Friday, December 4, 2020
Top Stories

‘Dream girl’ Hema Malini to campaign for PDA

Hema Malini

Kohima, March 29: Political parties have rolled out long lists of star campaigners for the Lok Sabha and by-election to Aonglenden assembly constituency.
Star campaigners for the humiliated and jittery Naga People’s Front (NPF) is led by party president, Dr Shurhozelie Liezietsu and former Chief Minister, T R Zeliang.
The Bharatya Janata Party (BJP) has 40 names led by Prime Minister, Narendra Modi to campaign in the State. Other star campaigners are party president, Amit Shah, Home Minister, Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister, Arun Jaitely, External Affairs Minister, Sushma Swaraj, Minister for Roads Transport, Nitin Gadkari, Defence Minister, Nirmala Sitharaman, Union Minister of State for Home, Kiren Rijiju, former UP Chief Minister, Uma Bharti, and many more. The main attraction for the crowds is likely to be Hema Malini – India film superstar and TV actress and producer, Smriti Irani.
Hema Malini is a household name in the State. She is popularly known as “Dream girl” and “Basanti” for her hit films like Dream Girl and blockbuster film Sholay.
BJP general secretary in-charge of Northeast and party strategist, Ram Madhav, State Unit of BJP president, Temjen Imna Along, Deputy Chief Minister, Y. Patton, will also campaign for the elections.
BJP which has 12 MLAs is in a coalition partner of the ruling People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA).
Congress has shortlisted 40 names led by party president, Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, former Chief Minister, Dr S C Jamir, State unit Congress president, K. Therie, former Goa Chief Minister, Luizinho faleiro, Navjot Singh Sidhu, among others.
NPF which has decided to support the Congress in the Lok Sabha poll has also shortlisted 40 start campaigners and among them are working presidents, Huskha Yepthomi and Apong Pongener, Rajya Sabha MP, K G Kenye, former home minister, Kuzholuzo Nienu, former ministers, Imkong L Imchen, Yitachu, Chotisuh Sazo, Chumben Murry, Vikheho Swu and Ngangshi K Ao.
The cock party candidate Toshipokba Longkumer withdrew his candidature from the Aonglenden by-election to support the NDPP candidate leaving his former party high and dry.
The NPF is contesting Lok Sabha in Outer Manipur constituency and hopeful of wining the seat.
This time crowd pullers would be Hema Malini, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, Srimti Irani and Uma Bharti. (Page News Service)