Saturday, May 8, 2021

Dr T Ao Trophy: Phek, Zunheboto and Dimapur register win

Dr T Ao Trophy

Kohima, April 14: On the third day of the 21st Inter District Dr T Ao Trophy, Phek, Zunheboto and Dimapur district registered wins in their respective matches while Kohima got a walk-over.

In the first match, defending champions Phek defeated Tuensang by 4-1. Khwetelhi Thopi (7) netted first goal in the 32nd minute while Senowe Khutsoh (17) found the second in 42nd minute; Punuru Nienu (9) and Yhoto Lohe (13) scored the third and fourth goals in 66th and 68th minute respectively.
The face-saving goal for Tuensang came in 47th minute through Yongkong (47).
In the second match, Zunheboto defeated Kiphire by 3-1. Zunehboto scored through Mughapu (9) in 20th minute while Kito (17) netted in added time of the first half and the 50th minute of the game. Angki (6) scored the only goal for Kiphire in the 46th minute.
Dimapur district blanked Wokha by 3-0. Kivi Zhimomi (10), Haotingmang (12) and Kakhevi (7) scored a goal each in the 21st, 40th and 63rd minute.
Longleng district’s first match lined up as the last match for today with Kohima district but while awaiting the outcome of COVID-19 test, Kohima was given a walk-over. Subsequently, the result came with 12 of them testing positive.
(Page News Service)