Friday, October 30, 2020
Top Stories

All 9 nominations filed for bye-polls found valid

Kiphire Bye-poll scrutiny
General Observer Dev Raj Dev along with the RO Kiphire during the scrutiny for the Bye Election to 60 Pungro-Kiphire A/C at DC’s conference hall, Kiphire on Oct 17 (IA Kiphire)

1 candidate withdraws from Pungro-Kiphire A/C
DIMAPUR, OCTOBER 17: The nominations filed by all the 9 candidates for the bye-election to two vacant seats in Nagaland were found valid on Saturday after scrutiny. However, one candidate from 60-Pungro-Kiphire constituency withdrew his nomination today.
From 14 Southern Angami-1 A/C, the nominations filed by Medo Yhokha (NDPP), Kikovi Kirha (NPF) and Seyievilie Peter Zashumo (Independent) were found valid after scrutiny of nomination by SDO (C) Jakhama and Returning Officer, Ruopfukuotuo Noudi in his office chamber. The scrutiny was conducted in presence of General Observer, SK Pradhan, IAS, Secretary (Protocol) Home Department, Government of Sikkim and party agents.
For Pungro-Kiphire A/C, nominations filed by all 6 candidates were found valid. But Luthriyem Dupongle, Independent candidate, withdrew his nomination today.
With this, the 5 remaining candidates still in the fray are Khaseo Anar (Congress), Lirimong Sangtam (BJP) and 3 Independents namely S Kiusumew Yimchunger, K Shellumthong Yimchunger and T Yangseo Sangtam.
The last date of withdrawal of candidature is October 19.
(Page News Service)