Monday, January 18, 2021

Dimapur lifts Sr Inter-Dist Cricket trophy

Dimapur, July 16: Dimapur district lifted the trophy of Senior Inter-District Cricket tournament, defeating Mon district by 168 runs in the finals played at Nagaland Cricket Ground Sovima today.
Winning the toss and electing to bat first, Dimapur made a brilliant start with the openers Sedezhalie Rupreo (67) and Nitish Lohchab (141) giving a 186 run partnership before the team could reach 300 at the loss of 5 wickets in the stipulated 40 overs. Imliwati and Tahmeed contributed 41 and 11 runs respectively for the team.
For Mon, Mayang claimed 2 wickets, while Humjong, Raman and Pangnyei took 1 wicket each.
Chasing a mammoth total, Mon batsmen were bundled out at 132 in 26.2 overs with Raman scoring 55, Renthungo 10 and Stephen 21 runs.
For Dimapur, Varun took 3 wickets, Imliwati and Santosh 2 wickets each, Nitesh, Sumit and Tahmeed 1 wicket each.
Tahmeed Rahman of Dimapur district was declared the player of the tournament for his outstanding performance with both bat and ball during the tournament. (Page News Service)