Friday, September 22, 2023

Dimapur beat Niuland to lift inter-district senior men’s trophy

Nagaland News

Dimapur, May 29: Defending champion Dimapur trounced Niuland by 126 runs to lift the Inter-District Senior Men’s Tournament 2023 played at the Nagaland Cricket Stadium.
Batting first after winning the toss, Dimapur’s opening batsman gave their team a good start as Shamphri Terang and Ben Ozukum contributed 17 and 32 runs respectively. However Dimapur lost Hem Bahadur Chetri who was in sublime form for a nought. Sanjay 44 runs and Oren Ngullie 45 runs played an important innings as they helped Dimapur team pose a competitive 215 runs in 50 overs.
For Niuland, Vino G Zhimomi claimed 3 important wickets while Akavi A Yeptho and Jalal picked 2 wickets each.
In the run chase, Dimapur struck first as Afzal Hussain was caught at wide long-on by Hem off Hoponkyu bowling for a nought. However Vishal Sahani 12 runs, Wahid Ali 15 runs and Sunil Sharma 14 runs gave Niuland some ray of hope but they were not able to convert their starts into a big total and lost their wickets in quick succession. Niuland’s captain Hokaito Zhimomi made a valiant effort at the end with 33 runs but it was never enough and with his dismissal the title race also ended for Niuland. Eventually Dimapur bowled out Niuland with only 89 runs on the board in 24 overs and defended their title with a convincing 126 runs victory.
Tahmeed Rahman shone with the ball for Dimapur as he scalped 4 wickets, while Santosh and Hem Bahadur picked up 2 wickets each.
Man of the Match for the finals was awarded to Tahmeed Rahman for his impressive bowling and picking up 4 wickets.
List of Individual awards: Best Bowler – Vino G Zhimomi (Niuland); Best Batsman – Sedezhalie Rupreo (Chümoukedima); Best Wicket keeper – Afzal Hussain (Niuland) and Man of the Series – Hokaito Zhimomi (Niuland).
(Page News Service)