DGC observes 52nd College Foundation Day

DGC observes 52nd College Foundation Day

Dimapur, July 25: Dimapur Government College observed its 52nd College Foundation Day today.
Dr Vitsosie Vüprü who chaired the programme, briefly informed the gathering comprising of students, faculty and guests that the college was observing its Foundation Day for the first time.
Various awards instituted for the students of the college were also presented on this day.
In her introductory speech, Kavili Jakhalu, Principal, DGC welcomed everyone including the special guests among who were former faculty members of DGC, K P Avikasit and L T Yepthomi. Family members of late Dr. Hokishe Sema, former Chief Minister of Nagaland also attended as special guests.
In her speech, she highlighted that this was the first time that the College Foundation Day was observed in this manner.
Stating that DGC’s tryst with destiny took place 52 years ago in a ramshackle old building with railway tracks on one side and a noisy bazaar on other side, DGC has now emerged as a premier NAAC accredited college in Nagaland, against all odds.
She exhorted the gathering to stop and reflect on the history and origins of the college. She gave credit for the present success of the college to the founding fathers’ decision to start this college 52 years ago.
Comparing the transformation of the college to the metamorphosis of a caterpillar into a butterfly, she was happy that the college was now enjoying the fruits of the labour of those who had served earlier.
In order to pay homage to the sixteen founding fathers, who had come together to start the college on the October 27, 1965, their names were read out one by one and a moment of silence was observed.
A special number was performed by Watitemjen and friends.
Guest speaker and former faculty of DGC, K P Avikasit spoke on the theme “DGC Then & Now”. Having served the college since its inception, he shared anecdotes of past days, about how things functioned then and the changes that can be seen now.
He expressed his happiness on how things have progressed now with many new developments in the college. Exhorting the students to embrace the true meaning of education, he opined that we are educated only when we give back to society.
The different awards instituted for the students were then presented.
(Page News Service)

The Award Winners in different categories for 2018 are:
1. Dr. Hokishe Sema Academic Excellence Award (Arts Stream) –
C. Chungki Wennyei (Rs.10,000 and Citation)
2. L T Yepthomi Academic Excellence Award (Commerce Stream) –
Tikaram Sarma
(Rs.10,000 and Citation)
3. Subject Toppers in Political Science (General & Honours)
2nd Semester: General – Pangerlemla
Honours – Yandala Shitiri
4th Semester : General – Ponyem Konyak
Honours – Khumliba Sangtam
6th Semester : General – Sentisenla M Jamir
Honours – C. Chungki Wennyei
4. Subject Topper in Economics ( Honours)
Loreni Jami (Cash & Certificate)
5. Subject Topper in English (Honours )
Imnamongla (Cash & Certificate)
6. Subject Topper in History (Honours )
Ms. Gambamliu (Certificate and book)
7. Subject Topper in Philosophy (Honours)
Naomi Phom (Cash and Certificate)
8. Subject Topper in Education (Honours)
Sentongkala (Cash and Certificate)