Friday, December 1, 2023
Top Stories

CPO file contempt of court petition against MoRTH & GoN officials

Nagaland News

DIMAPUR, OCTOBER 3: The Chakhesang Public Organisation has filed a contempt of court petition against Anurag Jain, the Secretary of Union Ministry of Road Transport and Highways (MoRTH), Nagaland Chief Secretary J Alam, and PK Meena, an Executive Engineer in MoRTH.
“This is an application filed under Section 11 and 12 of the Contempt of Courts Act, 1971 read with Article 215 of the Constitution of India for a non-compliance of the judgment and order dated January 30, 2023 passed by this Court in PIL/09/2019”, stated an order passed by Justice Marli Vankung on Tuesday.
The Counsel for the petitioner submitted that the January 30 order issued by the Court had held that the whole exercise for release of compensation to the petitioners for the damage or destruction within their landed property due to construction of road by the respondents should be completed within six months.
However, the Court was informed that till date no such compensation has been paid.
“Accordingly, there is a gross violation of judgment and order dated January 30, 2023, hence the contempt petition.
Notice is to be issued upon the respondent through Registered Post with A/D within three days returnable by three weeks. List after three weeks”, stated the order.
(Page News Service)