Wednesday, May 19, 2021
Top Stories

Court dismisses NPF’s appeal to bar 7 rebel MLAs from attending NLA

Nagaland News

Dimapur, February 11: In a major relief to the 7 suspended rebel NPF MLAs on the eve of the State assembly session, the Kohima Bench of the Gauhati High Court on Thursday “rejected and dismissed” the interlocutory application (IA) filed by the NPF seeking to restrain the 7 rebel MLAs from entering the Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) during the assembly session.
The 7 suspended rebel NPF MLAs are EE Pangteang, Kejong Chang, CL John, Eshak Konyak, BS Nganlang, toyang Chang and N Thongwang Konyak.
The NPF had earlier petitioned NLA Speaker Sharingain Longkumer seeking disqualification of the 7 rebel MLAs, but the speaker had dismissed the party’s petition on July 14, 2020.
On the writ petition (W.P.(C) 95/2020) filed by the NPF seeking disqualification of the rebel MLAs, the Court observed that the writ petitioners has made out a cause of action or ground within the limited grounds of judicial review given in the 3 cases namely, Kihoto Hollohon, Jagjit Singh and Manth Balasaheb Patil.
The Court listed the W.P.(C) 95/2020 to be heard after a week for all the parties to complete their pleadings.
(Page News Service)