Saturday, April 17, 2021

Collins Scrabble for Schools competition held

Dimapur, October 28: ‘Collins Scrabble for Schools’, a state championship was held for the first time in Nagaland on October 25 at Pilgrim Hr. Secondary, Dimapur. The event began with a formal introduction by Collins Scrabble Team. Dr Manisha Sharma, founder and president, Scrabble Association of Delhi gave an introduction to the tournament and rules of the game to the participants.
Under the theme ‘Compete with the best’, altogether 47 students of standard 6-8 participated from Little Star Hr. Sec., St. Marys Hr. Sec. School, Maple Tree, Delhi Public School, Christian Hr. Sec. School, Christina Memorial Hr. Sec. School and Pilgrim Hr. Secondary.
The afternoon session began by giving away certificates to all the participants of Class 6-8. There were three categories, level 6, 7 and 8.
Winner of each category were Jeremiah N Englert, class 6 of Pilgrim Hr. Sec., Grace Changkiri, class 7 of Little Star Hr. Sec. School and Ashish Kumar Jaiswal, class 8 of Little Star Hr. Sec. School respectively.
Each level winner competed for the championship title, whereby Jeremiah N Englert of Pilgrim Hr. Secondary walked away as the champion of Collins Scrabble for schools. The winner will represent Nagaland at the National Scrabble Competition on December 20 at New Delhi.
(Page News Service)