Sunday, April 14, 2024

Chandigarh University sweeps overall wrestling championship of 4th KIUG

4th KIUG

Kohima, February 25: Chandigarh University today swept the overall group champion in men’s and women’s category of the wrestling event of the 4th Khelo India University Games (KIUG).
In men’s category Chandigarh University (199) points won the overall champions position while Guru Kashi University (80) and Rani Channamma University Karnataka (68) points were placed first runners’-up and second runners-up respectively.
In women’s category, Chandigarh University (109 points) bagged champions, runners-up went to Lovely Professional University (75) and second runners-up to Rani Channamma University Karnataka with (72).
Organised by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports and hosted by Government of Nagaland and Nagaland University (NU) the event was held at Indira Gandhi Stadium Kohima from February 23-25.
Nagaland Governor gave away the trophies and medals to the winners.
Wrestling is part of Indian traditional art and it is improving, he said while expressing happiness to witness the event.
A former wrestler, referee and coach as well as the Competition Manager Satyadev Malik lauded the Nagaland government and the Department of Youth Resources for ‘excellently’ hosting the event though wrestling competition of such a magnitude was held here for the first time.
With budding wrestlers from Nagaland witnessing the three-day event, he expressed hope that Nagas would also be able to compete in the national event and win medals in the near future.
He also appreciated the logistics, food and lodging arrangements as well as the volunteers for actively supporting the wrestlers coming from the different universities.
Meanwhile, the prize distribution event also witnessed demonstration of Naga traditional wrestling under the aegis of Nagaland Wrestling Association. It was played between champions Venuzo Dawhuo and Kezhaseluo-o Pienyü.
Meanwhile, the result of the final day competitions are as follows:
Women’s Wrestling- Seniors (57 kg)
Gold- Shilpa (BPSMV) Bhagat Phool Singh Mahila Vishwavidyalaya
Silver- Hansaberathore (LPU) Lovely Professional University, (PB)
Bronze- Manju (GKU) Guru Kashi University
Women’ s wrestling- Seniors ( 68 kg)
Gold- Sumit Kumari (Indira Gandhi University)
Silver- Tamanna (Maharshi Dayanand University)
Bronze- Shravani Dnyaneshwar Shelake (Shivaji University)
Women’s wrestling- seniors (76 kg)
Gold- Reetika (Chandigarh University)
Silver- Suneha (Maharshi Dayanand University)
Bronze- Shikha Dabas (Guru Kashi University)
Greco- Roman Seniors (55 kg)
Gold- Sanjeev (Lovely Professional University)
Silver- Raju Borasi (Devi Ahilya Viswavidhyalaya)
Bronze- Dinesh Yadav (Banaras Hindu University)
Greco- Roman Seniors ( 87 kg)
Gold- Yudhveer (OPJS University)
Silver- Aditya A Bedkyale (Vijayanagara Sri Krishnadevaraya University Karnataka)
Bronze- Deepak Singh (Lakshmibai National Institute of Physical Education)
Greco- Roman Seniors (130 kg)
Gold- Sagar (Dr K N Modi University)
Silver- Linkan Singh Yadav (Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia Avadh University)
Bronze- Wadajakar Deepak Balaji (Swami Ramanand Teerth Marathwada University)
Freestyle seniors (61 kg)
Gold- Ramkesh (Chandigarh university)
Silver – Aksh (Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri Rashtriya Sanskrit University)
Bronze- Anil Kumar (Lakshmibai National Institute of Physical Education)
Freestyle Seniors (86 kg)
Gold- Sachin (Chandigarh University)
Silver- Pushpender Dalal (Maharshi Dayanand University)
Bronze- Badal Vidhuri (Chaudhury Charan Singh University, Meerut)
Freestyle Seniors (125 kg)
Gold- Aman Rathi (Guru Kashi University)
Silver- Sudrshan Mahadev Kotkar (Savitribai Phule Pune University)
Bronze- Sakesh (Shri Jagdishprasad Jhabarmal Tibrewal University)
Women’s wrestling Seniors 65 kg
Gold – Komal (Chaudhary Ranbir Singh University)
Silver – Antim (Chandigarh University)
Bronze – Diksha Malik (Guru Kashi University)
Bronze – Freedom Yadav (Lovely Punjab University)
(Page News Service)