Monday, July 26, 2021

Centurion FC retain NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy

Champions Centurion FC along with Deputy Commissioner Kohima, Thejawelie Gregory and other dignitaries pose for lens at Koima Local Ground on October 19

Kohima, October 19: Centurion Football Club, Kohima Village retained the NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy by defeating debutants Viswemi FC Viswema 2-0 to emerge champions for the second consecutive edition at the Kohima local ground here.
Centurion FC dominated the game with the blow of the whistle and found an early lead within the first five minutes as Hanglen Chang taking advantage of the rival goal-keeper and defence lapse made a thorough pass for unmarked Vekhruto Resu to strike the nets. The duo also made an attempt in the 22nd minute but this time custodian Kevime Vitsu denied them, who also thwarted skipper Seyiekhrietuo Suohu left footed long ranger in the28th minute.
Viswemi FC were also strong and making efforts to return to the game but they lacked the finishing. A minute before the half time, Viswemi FC created their first opportunity as Kelengol Toso tried a header off a cross from Kelengoto James but failed to find the equalizer.
After the lemon break, Centurion continued their domination and managed to double the score in the 81st minute through Yhunshalo Kemp.
Winning the trophy, Centurion FC walked away with Rs 2 lakh cash with trophy while runners-up Viswemi FC got Rs 1.2 lakh.
The individual awardees are:
Player of the Tournament – Keduvikho Mekro of Viswemi FC received motorbike
Higher Scorer – Vizotuolie Lhousi of Meriema Village Youth Organization
Best Goal Keeper – Medophrezo Kezieo Centurion FC
Best Defender – Nighato Assumi of Centurion FC
Best Midfielder – Visalie Mezhü of Medziphema Town Youth Organization
The individual awardees received cash Rs 10,000 each with citation while losing semi-finalist and quarter-finalists also received Rs 30,000 each and Rs 15,000 each respectively.
Member of Rajya Sabha, K G Kenye graced the valedictory function as the special guest while Deputy Commission of Kohima, Thejawelie Gregory Sote along with other dignitaries handed over the prizes to the winners.
(Page News Service)