Thursday, May 23, 2024
Top Stories

Central Nagaland Legislators’ Forum likely

Nagaland News

DIMAPUR, JANUARY 15: The Central Nagaland Tribes Council (CNTC) and some elected representatives from among its constituent tribes have agreed in principle to form a Central Nagaland Legislators’ Forum, according a source privy to the development.
The CNTC, formed in 2016, comprises three Naga tribes: Ao, Lotha and Sumi.
On Saturday, the CNTC had called for a meeting with all elected representatives of its constituent tribes, at Hotel Saramati in Dimapur.
However, only 9 of them, including Deputy Chief Minister Y Patton, turned up for the meeting on Monday, said the source.
It was informed that the 8 others were Tokheho Yepthomi (MP Lok Sabha), Dr. Chumben Murry, Pukhayi, Moatoshi Longkumer, Kazheto Kinimi, Dr.Longrineken, KT Sukhalu and Metsubo Jamir.
After discussing for nearly an hour, they agreed in principle to form the Legislators’ Forum, the source informed.
The CNTC leaders and the elected representatives also set February 11 as the tentative for its next meeting, it was informed.
(Page News Service)