Campaigning ends at 4 p.m. today

Campaigning ends at 4 p.m. today

Nagaland set for polls on April 11: CEO Sinha

Kohima, April 8: Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Nagaland, Abhijit Sinha, IAS Monday said all preparations are in place for the state to go to polls elect its lone representative to Lok Sabha and 26-Aonglenden Assembly seat under Mokokchung district on April 11.
Addressing media persons here tonight, Sinha said campaigning for both the seats will come to an end at 4 p.m. Tuesday restricting all political public rallies and displaying election matter intended or calculated to influence or affect the result of an election by means of cinematograph, television or other similar apparatus.
Any person who contravenes this provision shall be punishable with imprisonment for a term which may extend to two years, or with fine, or with both, he informed.
Nagaland has a total of 12,13,777 electorates for the Lok Sabha polls while total voters for bye-election to 26-Aonglenden A/C stands at 12,482.
The District Administration and Police will ensure that all political functionaries shall leave the constituency immediately after the campaign period is over, he said.
He said that facilities like power supply, drinking water, toilets have been made available in 90% polling stations out of the total 2227 voting venues spread across the state while ramps for persons with disabilities have been completed in 70% of the polling stations.
Altogether 6002 PwD voters have been identified in the state while the Commission would be introducing Braille Dummy Ballot Sheet to facilitate the visually disabled electorates, he said.
On security, he said more than 75 companies are being deployed in the state comprising of Central Armed Police Forces, Nagaland Police, District Executive Force, Home Guards and Village Guard.
Supplementing the CEO, Returning Officer, M Patton said Mon will use 850 VG personnel for election duty, Longleng 300 and Meluri 200.
The CEO also informed that Central Armed Police Forces will be deployed at 172 vulnerable identified Polling stations.
He informed that all polling parties have completed their trainings and majority of the polling parties will be leaving for their polling stations on Wednesday polling officials for 325 polling stations located in far flung areas from the district headquarters would be leaving tomorrow.
Stating that there is no issue on the shortage of vehicles for the polling personnel, Sinha said 704 vehicles are being provided from the surplus districts -Kohima and Dimapur to the deficit districts.
He also said that 728 vehicles are being requisitioned from Assam to meet the shortfall.
Updating on seizures, CEO said that cash seizure till date is Rs. 92,26,240 and liquor is 62,948.92 litres while the monetary value of all seizures including and other abusive substances is Rs. 3,03,33,284.
Till date, 858 persons have made to sign agreement under Preventive Section of CrPC so as not to create any problems during the electioneering process, he said.
The CEO further informed that no exit poll can be published or broadcast in print and electronic media from the period of the first of polling till the last phase of the polling day on May 19.
Meanwhile, Commissioner Nagaland and Returning Officer for the polls, M Patton said during the electioneering process, four chows cause notices have been served to all the four candidates of the Lok Sabha polls – INC’s K L Chishi, NDPP’s Tokheho yepthomi, NPP’s Hayithung Tungoe and Independent Dr M M Thromwa Konyak for violation of the Model Code of Code.
He also said that inspection of accounts register of all the candidates has been completed.
He, however, said while discrepancies detected between Shadow Observation Register and Register of Accounts furnished by the candidates. NDPP meeting at Jalukie Town, Peren and Zunhehoboto and Congress meeting at Dimapur and Chozuba, Phek does not commensurate, he said adding that necessary instructions have been given to the concerned Deputy Commissioner and Assistant Returning Officer for seeking rectification from the respective candidates. (Page News Service)