Bye-election for Nagaland parliamentary constituency on May 28

Bye-election for Nagaland  parliamentary constituency on May 28

Dimapur, April 26: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Thursday announced the schedule of bye-election to Nagaland parliamentary constituency. The lone Lok Sabha seat from the State fell vacant after the sitting MP LS, Neiphiu Rio resigned to contest the assembly election in the State earlier this year.
As per the schedule given by the ECI, the date of issue of gazette notification about the election will be May 3, last date of nomination – May 5, date for scrutiny of nominations – May 11, last date for withdrawal of candidatures – May 14, date of poll – May 28, date of counting – May 31 and the date before which election shall be completed – June 2.
Meanwhile consequent on the announcement of bye-election, Chief Electoral Officer, Nagaland, Abhijit Sinha informed that the Model Code of Conduct comes into force with immediate effect and will be in force till the completion of the bye-election.
The Model Code of Conduct shall be applicable to all candidates, political parties and to the union and State Government.
(Page News Service)