Bengaluru thrash East Bengal to win inaugural Super Cup


Bengaluru FC won with a brace from Sunil Chhetri and one each from Rahul Bheke and Miku.

BHUBANESWAR, April 20: Skipper Sunil Chhetri led from the front with a brace as Bengaluru FC thrashed 10-man East Bengal 4-1 to win the inaugural Super Cup football tournament here on Friday.
Chhetri scored off a penalty in the 69th minute before exploiting some poor marking by the East Bengal defence to head in his second in the 90th.
An accurate header by Rahul Bheke (40th) and a superb finish by Nicoals Fedor (71st) brought the other goals for Bengaluru.
East Bengal striker Ansumana Kromah (28th) had earlier put the Kolkata giants in the lead with an excellent back volley.
Bengaluru thus maintained their record of winning a trophy in each of the five seasons they have been in existence.
They have won five trophies during the brief period they have been in existence, which include two I-League titles and an equal number of Federation Cup crowns apart from the inaugural edition of the Super Cup.
Most of the first half of Friday’s final was a tough, physical battle in which both teams were more or less equally matched.
East Bengal took the lead off a corner when a deflection found its way to Kromah who scored with an acrobatic back volley.
Bheke found the equaliser for Bengaluru towards the end of the first half with an accurate header off a corner. (Agencies)