Thursday, June 13, 2024
Top Stories

All set for voting for 5th phase of LS polls on May 20


NEW DELHI, MAY 19: Voting for the 5th phase of the Lok Sabha elections in 49 constituencies spread across 8 States and Union Territories (UTs) will be held on Monday.
The polling is scheduled to commence at 7 a.m. in 94,732 polling stations, manned by 9.47 lakh polling officials, amid tight security to avert any untoward incident and conclude at 6 p.m.
Of the 49 Lok Sabha seats going to polls in the 5th phase, 14 are from Uttar Pradesh, 13 from Maharashtra, 7 from West Bengal, 5 each from Bihar and Odisha, 3 from Jharkhand and 1 each from Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.
More than 8.95 crore voters will decide the fates of 695 candidates who are in the fray.
Prominent candidates from the BJP are Union Ministers Rajnath Singh (Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh), Smriti Irani (Amethi), and Piyush Goyal (Mumbai North, Maharashtra), while from Congress is Rahul Gandhi (Rae Bareli, Uttar Pradesh) and KL Sharma (Amethi).
Other key candidates are former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah (Baramulla) and president of Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) Chirag Paswan (Hajipur, Patna).
Polling for the 35 Assembly constituencies of the Odisha Assembly will also take place simultaneously.
Meanwhile, the Election Commission of India (ECI) called upon the voters to turn out in large numbers at polling stations and exercise their franchise.
The poll panel also said concerned CEOs/DEOs and State machinery have been advised to take adequate measures to manage hot weather conditions in areas, where it is forecast. They are told to ensure basic minimum facilities like water, a shed, toilets, ramps, volunteers, wheelchairs and electricity are in place to ensure that every voter, including the elderly and persons with disabilities, can cast their vote with ease.
The Lok Sabha elections are being held in 7 phases between April 19 and June 1. The 1st phase of polling was held on April 19, the 2nd phase on April 26, the 3rd phase on May 7 and the 4th phase on May 13.
The 1st phase recorded 66.14% voter turnout, the 2nd 66.71%, the 3rd 65.68% and the 4th 69.16%.
The results of the Lok Sabha elections will be declared on June 4.
(Courtesy: TS)