Friday, July 23, 2021

All India Police Commando Competition underway

Police Commando

Dimapur, January 2: The 9th All India Police Commando Competition is underway here at Karbi Anglong Sports Association Stadium of Diphu, Karbi Anglong in which 22 teams from all over the countryare taking part.
The competition was officially declared open by Governor of Meghalaya Tathagata Roy today who was present at the inauguration ceremony as the chief guest.
Lauding the Assam Rifles for undertaking the task of organizing the event, he said that the Assam Rifles has lived upto its credo of being ‘Friends of the North East ‘ and is ever present not only in conflict ridden regions but also during other times of needs.
He also said that the commandos are the objects of fear and their presence instill fear in the hearts of those who wants to hurt the country.
Previously, in his opening address, Director General of Assam Rifles Lt. Gen. Sukhdeep Sangwan had said that the commandoes are the best of the best in their tasks at a time when the country is faced by many challenges like terrorism, militancy and insurgency.
During the inauguration programme a small team of 21 PARA (SF) demonstrated the technique of insertion/exfilteration by helicopters by slithering as well as Combat Free Fall (CFF) while the artist from Manipur enthralled the spectators with their drums and dances. There were also teams that demonstrated different martial arts.
Of the 22 participating teams, eight are from Central Armed Police Forces and 14 are state Police Forces. The competition includes Small Team Operations (Jungle), Small Team Operations (Urban), Battle Obstacle Course, firing and various physical and proficiency tests with battle loads. The aim of this competition is to enhance physical and mental robustness, shooting skills, test leadership qualities under stressful conditions and foster team spirit among the participants.
The competition will end on January 9, and the closing ceremony will be attended by Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal. The first such competition was organized in the year 2010.
(Page News Service)