All 5 women candidates lose

All 5 women candidates lose

Dimapur, March 3: It is the same old story again. The 60-member Nagaland assembly will again have no woman MLA.
Though for the first time in the electoral history of Nagaland, five women candidates were in the fray among the 196 contestants, none succeeded to break the male bastion.
Awan Konyak, who contested from Aboi on Nationalist Democratic Progress Party (NDPP) ticket came close to becoming the first woman to get elected, but unfortunately lost to Eshak Konyak of NPF by a margin of 905 votes. At one time, there was hope that she could finally break the male bastion when she was leading by 1320 votes, but as counting continued she eventually came short by 905 votes.
The other four women, Wedie-u Kronu and Mangyangpula Chang of National People’s Party from Dimapur-3 and Noksen respectively, BJP’s Rhakila from Tuensang Sadar-II and Independent candidate, Rekha Rose Dukru from Chizami failed to make any impact and lost to their male counterparts. (Page News Service)