Sunday, July 14, 2024
Top Stories

AFSPA extended in parts of Nagaland

Nagaland News

Dimapur, March 24: The Union Home Ministry on Friday extended for 6 months the “disturbed area” status in parts of Nagaland under the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958.
According to a notification, the decision was taken after review of the law-and-order situation in the State. The AFSPA gives armed forces personnel, operating in disturbed areas, sweeping powers to search, arrest, and to open fire if they deem it necessary for “maintenance of public order”.
The MHA said the Central Government in exercise of the powers conferred by Section 3 of the AFSPA, 1958 (28 of 1958) had declared 9 districts and 16 police stations in 4 other districts of Nagaland as ‘disturbed area’ for a period of 6 months with effect from October 1, 2022.
It said, now, the disturbed area status will be applicable in 8 districts and 21 police stations areas falling under 5 other districts.
“And whereas a further review of the law and order situation in the state of Nagaland has been undertaken.
Now, therefore, Dimapur, Niuland, Chumoukedima, Mon, Kiphire, Noklak, Phek and Peren districts in Nagaland and the areas in Nagaland falling within the jurisdiction of i) Khuzama, Kohima North, Kohima South, Zubza and Kezocha police stations in Kohima District; ii) Mangkolemba, Mokokchung-I, Longtho, Tuli, Longchem and Anaki ‘C’ police stations in Mokokchung District; iii) Yanglok police station in Longleng District; iv) Bhandari, Champang and Ralan police stations in Wokha District; and v) Ghatashi, Pughoboto, Satakha, Suruhuto, Zunheboto and Aghunato police stations in Zunheboto District, are declared as ‘disturbed area’ under Section 3 of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 for a period of six months with effect from April 1, 2023, unless withdrawn earlier,” the notification said. (Page News Service)