Aamir Khan not joining politics

Aamir Khan not joining politics

Aamir Khan has ruled out the possibility of joining politics.
The Bollywood actor, while responding to a query on whether he would enter politics, if he were offered a Rajya Sabha berth for his social work, said, “We are currently doing a lot of work and I think to do that work, there is no need to enter into politics.”
On Sunday, the Dangal star said people like him, who are working in the creative fields, have a major responsibility towards nation building and making the “social fabric” strong.
“I am working in the creative field and people in this field have a major responsibility towards nation building and making the social fabric of the society strong,” he said at a press conference on Monday, after attending an event organised by his Paani Foundation to declare the Watercup awards.
Political leaders cutting across the party lines attended the award distribution ceremony held in Pune in Maharashtra. Paani Foundation is a not-for-profit company set up in 2016 by the team of the TV series Satyamev Jayate to fight drought in rural Maharashtra. It was founded by Aamir Khan and his wife Kiran Rao.
Paani Foundation conducts a competition called the Satyamev Jayate Water Cup, in which villages compete to win prizes for the best watershed management work.
About expanding the scope of the watershed movement, Khan said instead of going larger, the foundation will try go deeper. “Currently, 75 tehsils have been covered under the watershed movement. We would like to go deeper rather going larger,” he said.
The actor said they would now focus on areas like the soil health, grass land, crop planning and tree plantation.
“We would conduct parallel competition for the villages where the watershed movement has already been done and we will give them training on the soil health, crop planning, tree plantation and grass land,” he said.
Khan said Paani Foundation has plans to go to urban areas to work on water harvesting projects.
Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadanvis, state unit Congress chief Ashok Chavan, Opposition leader Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil, NCP leader Ajit Pawar, state ministers Ram Shinde and Vijay Shivtare attended the award distribution programme.