9th Silver Cup T-20 Cricket Tournament: Esa Warriors and Diphu XI enter final


Kohima, April 2: Esa Warriors and Diphu XI today remained unbeaten to enter into the final of the ongoing 9th edition of Silver Cup T-20 Cricket Tournament organized by Youth Department of Nepali Baptist Church Kohima on the theme “Peace and unity through Cricket” at Jakhama Local Ground.
Playing the first semi-final, Esa Warriors defeated Valour Cricket by 84 runs. Favoured in toss, Esa Warriors decided to bat and set a target of 148 runs losing 7 wickets in 20 overs.
Suresh scored 38 runs while Deepak Chetri remained not out at 24 runs. Valour CC bowlers Bashir claimed highest 3 wickets and was supported by two wickets each of Bittu and Sunil.
Chasing the target Valour CC were bundled out 12.3 overs 59 runs with Deepak Sahu and Nayan barely bitting 11 and 10 runs respectively.
Esa Warriors bowlers Muktar, Washim and Musuf downed 2 rival wickets each while Along claiming 3 wickets was adjudged man of the match.
In the second semi-final match, Diphu XI defeated Kohima Hornbill by 5 wickets.
Winning the toss, Diphu XI won the toss and put the rivals to bat while thrashing the batting line of Kohima Hornbills at 87 runs in complete 20 overs.
Anga 14 contributed highest 14 runs while Diphu XI bowlers Pranjal took three wickets and was supported by Shivram and Mridul with two wickets each.
They comfortably chased the target in 16 overs losing five wickets with Sarklimso and Pranjal scoring highest 26 and 17 runs. Moni was the only bowler for Kohima Hornbills to have claimed double wicket.
Pranjal of Diphu XI was adjudged man of the match for his 3 wickets and scoring 17 runs.
The final between the two teams will be played on April 4 at 10 a.m. (Page News Service)