Sunday, July 14, 2024
Top Stories

904 candidates in the fray for 57 LS seats in 7th phase polls

NEW DELHI, MAY 22: The Election Commission of India (ECI) said on Wednesday that 904 candidates would contest elections in 57 parliamentary constituencies spread across 8 States and Union Territories (UTs) in the 7th phase of Lok Sabha polls, scheduled to be held on 1st June.
The poll panel, in a communiqué, said, “904 candidates from 8 States/UTs to contest elections in the 7th phase of Lok Sabha elections scheduled for polling on June 1.”
“A total of 2,105 nominations were filed for 57 PCs across 8 States/UTs going for polls in the 7th phase. After the scrutiny of all nominations filed, 954 nominations were found to be valid”, it said.
The ECI said for the 7th phase, Punjab had a maximum of 598 nomination forms from 13 parliamentary seats, followed by Uttar Pradesh with 495 nominations from 13 constituencies.
The Jahanabad parliamentary seat in Bihar received a maximum of 73 nomination forms followed by Ludhiana in Punjab with 70 nomination forms. The average number of candidates contesting a parliamentary constituency for the 7th phase is 16, it said.
The States/UTs in the 7th phase polls included Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Odisha, Punjab, West Bengal and Chandigarh.
Of the 57 parliamentary seats, 13 each are from Uttar Pradesh and Punjab, 9 from West Bengal, 8 from Bihar, 6 from Odisha, 4 from Himachal Pradesh, 3 from Jharkhand and 1 from Chandigarh.
The Lok Sabha elections are being held in 7 phases between April 19 and June 1. The 1st phase of polling was held on April 19, 2nd phase on April 26, 3rd phase on 7May 7, 4th phase on May 13 and 5th phase on May 20. The 1st phase recorded 66.14% voter turnout, 2nd 66.71%, 3rd 65.68%, 5th 69.16% and 5th phase 62.20%.
The 6th phase of voting is scheduled to take place on May 25. The results will be declared on June 4.
(Courtesy: TS)