Wednesday, April 14, 2021
Top Stories

83.12% voter turnout in Lok Sabha poll: CEO


Aonglenden recorded 84.35% voting

Kohima, April 13: Nagaland Chief Electoral Officer, Abhijit Sinha, IAS Saturday said the State recorded an overall voters’ turnout of 83.12% for Lok Sabha polls and 84.35% for 26-Aonglenden bye-poll held on April 11 last.
Interacting with a section of media persons here, the CEO said altogether 10,02,670 electorates out of the 12,06,287 general voters exercised their franchise for Lok Sabha polls in the State on Thursday.
There were 7490 service voters, he said.
Earlier on the day of the poll, Sinha while announcing an approximate turnout of 78.67% had said that the final poll percentage would be known only after verifying the documents of the presiding officers and sector magistrates on Friday.
The voters turn out this election is lesser by 5.13% compared to the 88.25% turnout in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, he said.
Sinha said out of the total votes cast this year, 5,07404 were male and 4,95,266 female voters.
Four candidates – INC’s K L Chishi, PDA consensus candidate and NDPP’s Tokheho Yepthomi, NPP’s Hayithung Tungoe and Independent Dr M M Thromwa Konyak fought for the lone Lok Sabha seat in the State.
For the bye-poll to 26-Aonglenden Assembly Constituency under Mokokchung district of Nagaland, 10,490 voters out of the 12,436 electorates casted their vote. The voting percentage was 84.35%, he said, adding that 5040 male and 5450 female casted their votes.
The by-poll was a straight contest between the Congress nominee Alemjongshi Longkumer and Sharingain Longkumer of ruling NDPP.
The by-poll was necessitated following the demise of sitting ruling MLA Imtikumzuk in September last year.
(Page News Service)