73.05% turnout for re-polls in 13 PS


Counting of votes today; 3-tier security put in place: Addl. CEO

Kohima, March 2: Around 73.05 % electorates turned up to exercise their franchise in the 13 polling stations were fresh poll was held in one and re-poll conducted in 12 booths.
“The voting started at 7 a.m. and passed off peaceful everywhere, recording a total turn out 5728 voters out of the 7841 in the 13 stations,” said CEO Nagaland Abhijit Sinha here today.
Fresh poll was held in a make shift arrangement for I-Ladigarh under Tamlu A/C while re-polls were held for 15-Village Council Hall Samziuram ‘A’ Sector in 7-Peren A/C of Peren district; 29-AG Colony Upper-I in 9-Kohima Town A/C Kohima district; 1-Community Hall, Middle Khomi Village and 10-GPS Mesulumi village, A/Wing – both under 17-Chizami A/C, Phek district; 9-GPS Metsalemi village and 25-Panchayat Hall, Phek village B/Wing – both under 19-Phek A/C, Phek district; 1-GPS, Suthotsu Village in 20-Meluri A/C, Phek district; 13-GPS Building Zangkham village in 41-Tizit A/C, Mon district; 9-GMS Tonglongor and PS No 3 Chare-A, both in 52-Longkhim-Chare A/C of Tuensang district; 19-GHS Building, Pungro Town ‘B’ and 25-GPS Building, Khongka – both under 60-Pungro-Kiphire A/C in Kiphire district were declared void and ordered for re-poll.
Meanwhile, the fate of 59 out 195 candidates will shine tomorrow as counting of the votes cast on February 27 for Nagaland Assembly elections will be held tomorrow.
Of the 60-member State Assembly, three-time former Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio has been declared elected unopposed from 11-Northern Angami-II seat.
The contesting parties are – ruling Naga People’s Front (NPF) in 58 seats, Congress in 18, BJP in 20, JD(U) in 13, National People’s Party (NPP) in 25, NCP in 6, AAP in 3, LJP in 2 while newly-floated Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) is fighting in 40 seats and 11 are Independents.
Retired Chief Secretary of Nagaland, Alemtemshi Jamir is the only candidate who is contesting in two seats – 24-Angetyongpang and 25-Mongoya, both in Mokokchung district, on NDPP ticket.
15 constituencies witnessed straight fights between NPF-BJP and NPF-NDPP candidates.
As many as 53 sitting MLAs of the 12th NLA are seeking re-election this time.
Some of the prominent seats are 7-Peren A/C under Peren where Chief Minister, T R Zeliang contesting on NPF ticket is having straight contest with Iherie Ndang of NDPP.
Former Chief Minister, K L Chishi, who is contesting on BJP ticket is also fighting with NPF candidate and sitting MLA Picto for 32-Atoizu seat under Zubheboto district.
Speaker of the 12th NLA, Dr Imtiwapang Aier is on direct contest with retired Nagaland Commissioner, T N Mannen of NDPP in 23-Impur A/C of Mokokchung district.
Five women candidates, highest in the State elections so far, are contesting the polls are: Wedie-u Kronu and Dr Mangyangpula of NPP for 3-Dimapur-III A/C and 51-Noksen A/C, Rose Rekha Dukru as Independent for 17-Chizami A/C, Rakhila for BJP under Tuensang Sadar-II A/C and NDPP nominee Awan Konyak for 47-Aboi A/C.
Among other prominents are former speaker and three-times MLA, Chotisuh Sazo of NPF is contesting against new entrant Keducho Khamo in 16-Chozuba A/C.
Former Minister, Yitachu, who has been elected for the consecutive terms since 2003, is having a triangular fight with new comers Z. Nyusietho Nyuthe of NDPP and Hopeson Snock of NPP in 20-Meluri A/C.
At least nine incumbent ministers are also seeking re-election, they are:
Home Minister and three-times MLA, NPF candidate Kuzholuzo Nienu is also contesting straight against Shezato Lohe in 19-Phek A/C.
Minister for Health and Family Welfare and NPF candidate, Imkong L Imchen is having triangular contest with C Lima Imchen of NDPP and T Chalukumba Ao of NPP from 28-Koridang A/C.
Power Minister C. Kipili Sangtam is contesting as NPF candidate from V Kashiho from 59-Seyochung-Kiphire A/C.
Minister for Cooperation, Relief and Rehabilitation, A Imtilemba Sangtam of BJP is contesting against Muthingnyuba Sangtam of NPF and T. Cholongse Sangtam of NPP.
Minister for Rural Development and REPA as NPF is fighting against former MLA Shaboh of Congress and C Kwang Konyak of BJP.
Minister for Geology and Mining and Border Affairs, P Longon is standing on NPF ticket has to win against three others H. Kaiying of BJP, P. Mulang of NCP and K Khaming of JD(U) for 56-Noklak seat.
Minister for PWD (National Highways) Y Vikheho Swu is fighting on NPF ticket against Dr Sukhato A Sema of BJP and Independent Kheyihe Zhimomi for 13-Pughoboto A/C.
BJP candidate and Minister for Transport and Civil Aviation, P Paiwang Kontak is fighting against four – Khongjah Konyak of NJP, Naowang Konyak of Congress, T. Hatpha Wangnao of JD(U) and Independent Y Wangto Konyak.
Octogenarian Minister, Kejong Chang contesting as NPF candidate is fighting for the 54-Tuensang Sadar-II seat against woman candidate of BJP Rakhila and three others.
Counting of votes will be taken from 8AM tomorrow in 17 centres spread across 12 election districts for the 2156 polling stations.
Additional CEO Nagaland N Moa Aier said that thee-tier security arrangement has been put in place for the peaceful counting of the votes in every centre.
He informed that first outer ring would be guarded by District Executive Force, second by Indian Reserve Battalion of Nagaland Armed Police and the third by Central Armed Police Force.
The counting of votes in the EVMs will be done in the presence of the candidates and agents under the supervision of the respective District Returning Officers and Assistant Returning Officers, Moa added. (Page News Service)