7 educational institutions declared tobacco free zone


Dimapur, May 16: Six schools namely, Bethel High school, Christian Model High school, Gilgal High, Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Chukitong, SMBH, St. Peter’s School Longsa and Mount Tiyi College Wokha were declared free tobacco zone during the quarterly meeting of the District Tobacco Control Cell, District level coordination committee and district level enforcement squad, NTCP held on May 16 in the Deputy Commissioner’s conference hall, Wokha.
In the meeting Dr. Merebini Odyuo, Sr. Dental Surgeon & DNO, NTCP Wokha highlighted the activities undertaken and apprised the members about Wokha NTCP score-card. SDPO, Wokha also presented in brief about ‘COTPA Act’ for departmental enforcement Officers.
Deputy Commissioner, Wokha, Dr. Manazir Jeelani Samoon, IAS also released a booklet “Prevalence & Influence of Tobacco use among students in Wokha Town”.
(Page News Service)