Wednesday, December 2, 2020
Top Stories

4 cornered contest for Lok Sabha poll in State


Kohima, March 28: The ensuing Lok Sabha polls in Nagaland will be a four cornered contest while the bye-poll to 26-Aonglenden Assembly Constituency is set to be straight contest.
On the expiry of the withdrawal date of candidature today, none of the four candidates have withdrawn from the Parliamentary polls while two candidates have withdrawn from the bye-poll to State Assembly seat, said Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Nagaland, Abhijit Sinha, IAS while interacting with a section of media persons at his official chamber here this evening.
The candidates for lone seat of parliament in Nagaland are – Congress nominee K L Chishi, PDA consensus candidate and NDPP nominee Tokheho Yepthomi, NPP’s hayithung Tungoe and Independent Dr M M Thromwa Konyak.
Four candidates – Alemjongshi Longkumer of Congress, Sharingain Longkumer of ruling NDPP, Toshipokba Longkumer of NPF and O Tinu Longkumer of NPP had filed nominations for the bye-poll to 26-Aonglenden A/C.
However, Chief Electoral Nagaland confirmed that NPF candidate Toshipokba and NPP candidate Tinu withdrew their candidature Thursday. (Page News Service)