4 candidates in fray for lone LS seat in Nagaland

4 candidates in fray for  lone LS seat in Nagaland

5 file nominations for Aonglenden by-election

Kohima, March 25: Altogether nine candidates have filed nominations for the April 11 elections in Nagaland – four for Lok Sabha and five for bye-poll to 26 Aonglenden Assembly Constituency in Mokokchung district.
Nominations for the both the seats closed at 3 pm on Monday.
Two candidates – Hayithung Tungoe of National People’s Party (NPP) and Dr. M. M Thromwa Konyak of Indian Christian Secular Party (ICSP) submitted their documents on the last day of filing nominations for the LS poll.
The papers and other important documents of the candidates were duly scrutinized and verified by the Commissioner and Returning Officer, Nagaland, M. Patton assisted by ADC (HQ) & ARO, Limanenla in the presence of General Observer, Ravi Jha, IAS in the Commissioner’s conference hall here today.
People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) consensus candidate and sitting Lok Sabha MP as Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) nominee Tokheho Yepthomi and Congress candidate and former Chief Minister K L Chishi had submitted their documents on Friday.
However, the only opposition in the State Assembly – Naga People’s Front (NPF) which has 26 MLAs has surprisingly opted out of the Parliamentary elections.
On being contacted, NPF spokesperson Achumbemo Kikon said “the party will make official declaration on not contesting the Parliamentary polls but the basic reason is we want to concentrate on the Assembly bye-poll”.
On the other hand, ICSP is contesting the polls for the first time in the State.
The Indian Christian Secular Party is a Hyderabad based party with M. Udaia Kumar, Founder and Managing Director of SHARE Microfin Limited as the president.
NPP is also making its debut in the parliamentary election from the State. It had contested the state polls in 2018 for the first time had won two seats.
But both its legislators – L Khumo and Imnatiba merged with the ruling NDPP after the announcement of the elections on March 20 citing that as an ally of PDA they were against the decision of the Party fielding to field candidates for both the polls in Nagaland.
Meanwhile, for the bye-poll to 26-Aonglenden seat, five candidates have submitted their papers to the SDO(C) Mokokchung and Assistant Returning Officer, Abhinav Shivam.
The bye-poll was necessitated following the demise of sitting NDPP MLA Imtikumzuk in September last year.
While PDA consensus candidate and NDPP nominee Sharingain Longkumer had filed his nomination on Friday, Alemjonshi Longkumer (Congress), Toshipokba Longkumer (NPF) and O. Tinujungshi Longkumer (NPP), who is also the younger brother of Late Imtikumzuk filed the nominations today, said Deputy Commissioner and District Election officer Rajesh Soundararajan, IAS.
He also informed that with Congress submitting documents of substitute candidate a total of five persons have filed the nominations.
Scrutiny of documents will be conducted tomorrow while the last date of withdrawal of candidature is March 28.
Polling will be conducted simultaneously for the both the seats between 7 am to 4 pm on April 11 along with 20 states and union territories that goes to polls in the first phase of the seven phased parliamentary elections. (Page News Service)