Tuesday, June 15, 2021

3rd T20I: Australia crush Pakistan by 10 wickets to take series 2-0

Australia crush Pakistan
Australian cricket team celebrate after winning the T20 international series against Pakistan in Perth on November 8, 2019.

PERTH, November 8: Ruthless opening pair Aaron Finch and David Warner ran riot as Australia routed Pakistan by 10 wickets in Perth to wrap up their Twenty20 series 2-0 Friday in emphatic fashion.
After restricting the visitors to 106 for eight, Finch (52) and Warner (48) whacked five sixes and eight fours between them as they raced to the finish line without loss.
The home team won in Canberra by seven wickets, thanks to a brilliant 80 not out by Steve Smith, and were on track to also triumph in Sydney only for rain to save the visitors.
Their victory in Perth has them on an impressive eight-game winning streak in the short format as they build towards the T20 World Cup on home soil next year.
“Really proud of the boys with the way we applied ourselves in the last couple of weeks. Each time we turn up at training, we are improving ourselves and that is very important,” said captain Finch.
“We are growing as a team and hopefully some big things to come.”
In contrast, Pakistan are struggling and have now lost five of their last six.
Despite the poor run, which included an embarrassing 3-0 home series defeat to an under-strength Sri Lanka that cost Sarfaraz Ahmed the captaincy, they remain number one in the rankings.
But their cricket chiefs will be worried about the two Tests against Australia to come, starting this month in Brisbane.
“Very disappointed, but we lost to a good team. We have learnt a lot from this series and we’ll take the positives and come back hard in the next series,” said skipper Babar Azam.
“As captain, I learnt a lot personally too, but there’s a long way to go.”
After being sent in to bat at the Perth Arena, Iftikhar Ahmed’s 45 was the only resistance by Pakistan in a repeat performance of poor batting against quality bowling, led by Kane Richardson who took three wickets. (AFP)