Monday, July 26, 2021

37 teams to participate in 20th NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy

Kohima, September 19: Altogether 37 teams will be competing in the month long NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy organized by Angami Students’ Union (ASU) on the theme “Goal for Peace”.
The only students’ memorial soccer tournament in the state capital to be held at Kohima Local Ground will start on September 21 and conclude on October 19.
Among the 37 teams, one is from Manipur, one from Longleng district, five from Dimapur district and rest from Kohima district.
Advisor for Youth Resources and Sports, Zale Neikha will grace the inaugural function as the special guest on September 21 at 1p.m.
The inaugural match will be played between defending champion Centurion FC Kohima village and Poimi SU Kohima.
Meanwhile, in line with nationwide call for ban on single use plastics, the tournament will be held under the ambience of ‘plastic free’ and distribution of tree samplings with the motto ‘plant for life’.
This is the first of its kind initiatives during the 20 years of the tournament, said ASU president Vizokho Zashümo.
Towards this, he said that the organizers in collaboration with Kohima Municipal Council and Kohima Smart City Development Limited will be setting up 15-20 water dispensers around the ground for refilling the drinking water bottles. Paper cups will also be placed along with the dispensers for public use, he said.
Another shift from the usual practice during the tournament would be ‘gifting tree saplings’ to the special guests and invitees with the motto ‘Plant for Life’, he said.
He said that unlike the past, the organizers will not extend mementos but would be gifting the patrons, special guests and invitees with tree saplings. The saplings would be provided by Department of Forest through District Forest Officer, Kohima.
The champion of this edition will receive cash award of Rs. 2 Lakhs with trophy and citation while runner up will receive Rs. 1.20 lakhs with trophy and citation. The losing semi finalists will get Rs. 30,000 while quarter finalists will receive Rs. 15,000 each. Individual awards in the category of Best Defender, Best Goal Keeper, Best Midfielder and Highest Scorer will received Rs 10,000 each while Player of the Tournament will get a motorbike, informed tournament working committee member Zakie Khate.
Informing that entry during the inaugural function will be free, Zashümo urged all the schools to send their students to witness it. He also said that on other days of the initial rounds Rs 30/head will charged and Rs 50 from quarter final till final.
He, however, said that entry for students in uniform (after school & college hours) and the senior citizens would be free.
(Page News Service)