Sunday, September 19, 2021
Top Stories

3-tier security for May 23 votes count: CEO


Kohima, May 21: Intense security arrangement have been laid to ensure smooth and proper counting of votes for the Lok Sabha polls and by-election to 26-Aonglenden Assembly seat on May 23, top election official said Tuesday.
Polling for both Lok Sabha and 26-Aonglenden bye-poll was held simultaneously in the first phase of the general elections on April 11 last.
The lone parliamentary seat in the State witnessed a four cornered contest – People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) consensus candidate and ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) nominee, Tokheho Yepthomi, Congress candidate KL Chishi; National People’s Party (NPP) Hayithung Tungoe and Independent Dr MM Thromwa Konyak. Tokheho is seeking re-election for the lone seat.
Altogether 10,02,670 electorates out of the 12,06,287 general voters exercised their franchise for Lok Sabha polls with poll percentage at 83.12%.
On the other hand, the bye-poll to 26-Aonglenden assembly constituency under Mokokchung district was a straight contest between the Congress nominee Alemjongshi Longkumer and Sharingain Longkumer of ruling NDPP.
The by-poll was necessitated following the demise of sitting ruling MLA Imtikumzuk in September last year.
In the bye-poll, a total of 10,589 voters out of the 12,436 electorates cast their vote. The voting percentage was 84.35%.
Briefing media persons here this evening, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Nagaland Abhijit Sinha said that the Superintendents of Police in all the locations have made detailed security arrangement and there would be three tiered security on the day of counting.
He said while the first and second tier would be manned by District Executive Force, State Police and Indian Reserve Battalion personnel, the third and last tier close to the counting hall would be manned by Central Armed Police Force personnel.
The path that would be taken for transportation of EVMs from the Strong Rooms to Counting Halls have been delineated and barricaded and it would be under CCTV coverage, CEO said.
EVMs counting will commence at 8 am in 19 halls in 12 centres for the Lok Sabha polls while counting of votes for the bye-poll will be conducted in one hall in Mokokchung district, he said.
For the counting of the parliamentary constituency, in seven election districts of the State – Dimapur, Kohima, Phek, Mokokchung, Zunheboto, Mon and Tuensang there would be two counting halls each, and in the remaining five election districts – Peren, Pughoboto, Wokha, Longleng and Kiphire, there would be one Counting Hall, he said.
In each of the counting halls, the assembly segment assigned against that hall would be counted sequentially in an ascending order from the lowest numbered assembly segment under the supervision of Assistant Retuning Officer, he said.
The CEO informed that Election Commission has 20 counting observers for the parliamentary election and one counting observer for the bye election.
The CEO informed that after completion of the last round of counting of votes recorded in the EVM control units of an assembly segment, there would be mandatory verification of VVPAT paper slips of randomly selected five polling stations of that assembly segment.
These five polling stations would be selected through a draw of lots by the concerned Assistant Returning Officer in the presence of candidates or their agents and the Observers and counting of VVPATs would be done in a sequential manner.
He said that the Assistant Returning Officers from all the 12 locations would regularly upload the round wise data on online portal of ECI and would be submitting the same to the Returning Officer & Commissioner Nagaland. The RO after consolidating the results received from 12 locations and also the postal ballot count and after completion of counting at all the locations would declare the results and give the certificate.
The CEO further informed that the results of the counting would be displayed live on the website of the Election Commission and it could be also see in the Voter Helpline Mobile App which is available for download in the Google Play Store.
Counting Hall locations:
Dimapur district – DC Office
Peren district – Old DC Office
Kohima district -DC Office
Pughboto – DBs Court
Phek district -New DC office
Mokokchung district -Town Hall
Zunheboto district -Town Hall
Wokha district -Tiyi Hall
Mon district -DC Office Complex
Longleng district -DC Office
Tuensang district -CKS Hall
Kiphire district -DC Office
Counting Centre for Postal Ballot – Commissioner Office
Counting for bye-election – Town Hall Mokokchung
(Page News Service)