27th CWA wrestling tourney on Feb 19


Kohima, February 14: The 27th Senior and 1st under 16 years wrestling tournament of Chakhesang Wrestling Association (CWA) is all set to be held at Phek Town on February 18 & 19 with MLA Kuzholuzo Nienu, as the Inaugural Guest and Vice President, Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) Nikhrolo Khalo as the Valedictory Guest. The tournament will be hosted by the Phek Area Wrestling Association (PAWA) and ground management by the Losami Baptist Church (LBC)
According to an officials sources of the CWA, several prominent wrestlers including Chokri Area Champion Venuzo Dawhuo, Phek Area Champion Vekuzo Vezuh, Khezha-Kuzha Champion Reka Mero, Chozuba Range Champion Vetazo Veswu, Sucheku Area Champion Venuzo Vadeo, NWA former Champion, Vechita Khesoh, former NWA Open Champion, Pfusaoo Tetseo, reigning International Hornbill Naga Wrestling Champion, Vekutho Soho, former CWA Champion, Vevohu Swuro, Besuhveto Cümu, Kuchohu Cürha, Kuku-o Getsa, Nekhozo Keroh, Kuneshoyi Zuo, Kuluveto Venuh and many more will be vying for the ultimate title.
The Nagaland Wrestling Referee Board (NWRB) will officiate the tournament as Referees and Asst. Referees. Hukhoneyi Soho, Chisazo Dawhuo and CWA Technical Secretary Huvesu Puro were assigned as the Jury Board where all technical related issues will be dealt by them.
The Champion in the senior category will walk away with cash prize of Rs. 1,50,000 along with citations sponsored by the CWA, the second position will be awarded a sum of Rs. 1,00,000 along with citations sponsored by SP, Phek Vesupa Kezo, the Third and Fourth position holder will also walk home richer with cash prize of Rs. 80,000 and 50,000 along with citations sponsored by Project Director, DRDA, Phek Keyiranding Hegui and BDO, Phek Block, Kuhucuyi D. Vadeo respectively along with citations.
The losing quarter finalists will also received a sum of Rs. 8,000 each (4X8,000=32,000) sponsored by the hosting unit-PAWA.
The under years category will be awarded with the following cash prizes; Fisrt-25,000, Second-20,000, Third-15,000 and Fourth-10,000 respectively along with citations jointly sponsored by Khrote Doulo, Asst. Professor KSCJ (50,000) and the CWA. The group Champion will also received a sum of Rs. 10,000.
The CWA also convey its gratefulness to Vevoyi Vadeo, President, Chakhesang Youth Organization, Kohima (CYOK) for sponsoring tournament track suits, DC, Phek & District Sports Council, Phek Chairman, Sachin Jaiswal (IAS) for donating 50,000 and Dr. Pfükhrülhou Koza-Asst Director, RD, Nagaland for donating 50,000 towards the Association.
The tournament will also witness special feature like installation of new team of CWA Executive Council for the tenure 2020-2024, introducing of Champion Belt Wrestling by the family members of Lt. Chosanyi Rose, Approval of CWA Constitution, lighting of Tournament of Torch by the reigning Champion Venuzo Dawhuo, oath administered by the Technical Secretary Huvesu Puro.
A sum of Rs. 10,000 shall be realised from every affiliated units as membership fee. It is mandatory that all under 16 years wrestlers should produced either Aadhaar Card or School Cumulative Report Book copy for age proof. (Page News Service)