Friday, May 31, 2024

21st NSF Martyrs Memorial Trophy: Debutants FIFA FC surprises former champs TKS; ANTA win

Players of TKS and FIFA FC in action on October 25, 2021.

Kohima, October 25: Debutants FIFA Football Club surprised two-time champions Tangkhul Katamnao Saklong (TKS) knocking them out of the tourney in the second round while All Nagaland Taxi Association won in today’s matches of the 21st NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Tournament organized by Angami Students’ Union at Indira Gandhi Stadium here.

In an exciting first match of the day, FIFA FC came from behind to defeat TKS, the champions of 1992 & 2002 editions of the trophy by 4-3.
It was TKS drawing an early first blood through Thotngayung within two minutes of whistle while the margin was doubled in the 17th minute by Yami. However, debutants Laishram managed to minimize the margin in the 18th minute while Moirangnthem found the much needed equalizer in the 22nd minute followed by the lead goal for the home team was netted by Ngugoulal in the 34th minute to end the first half.
After the lemon break, TKS returned to the game as Yami equalised the scoreboard in the 63rd minute. However, it was Ngugoulal astounding the visitors with his second and the winning goals for the team in the injury added time of the match.

Playing the second match, All Nagaland Taxi Association (ANTA) defeated Rikhu Warriors FC 2-1. Rovizhalie scored first for ANTA in the 26th minute, followed by a spot kick conversion by Jenpu in the 29th minute to lead the first half 2-0 while the lone goal for Rikhu Warriors came through Serakho Lohe in the 45th minute.
Matches for Oct 26.

  1. A. Yhome FC vs Tsiesema Basa Youth at 12.30 p.m.
  2. United Brothers FC vs Hurricane Boys @ 2:00 p.m.
    (Page News Service)