Wednesday, June 7, 2023

20th ANCSU biennial conference from October 22

Nagaland News

Kohima, October 16: The All Nagaland College Students’ Union (ANCSU) is gearing up to hold its 20th biennial general conference from October 22 to 23 on the theme “Heralding Tomorrow”.
ANCSU President Vimeyiekho Vitso, along with his officials, announced that the two-day conference will be hosted by Kohima Science College (Autonomous) Jotsoma.

Despite the improvement in COVID-19 situation and the State Government relaxing norms, ANCSU has nevertheless — as precautionary measures — asked its 40 affiliated colleges to send a maximum of five delegates for the conference, he said.
Altogether, 200 delegates from 40 affiliated colleges and around 100 ANCSU officials, seniors and volunteers from the host college would be camping at the venue, with the college auditorium as the main conference hall, he said.
The 40 colleges include 15 government colleges and excludes colleges from Eastern Nagaland area but ANCSU would extend invitation to Eastern Nagaland College Students’ Union to be part of the conference, he said.
He also asserted that the conference will be conducted following all standard operating procedures (SOPs) directed by the State Government, for which the number of days for the conference has also been cut down.
Hectic preparations are in progress for the success of the conference, said Vitso.
Vitso highlighted that the conference will have four sessions with Nagaland College Principals Association (NCPA) president Dr Visakhonü Hibo to grace the introductory session on October 22 at 4 pm.
Minister for Higher Education & Tribal Affairs Temjen Imna Along will grace the inaugural session as the main speaker on October 23 at 9 am.
Joint CEO of State Disaster Management Authority Johnny Ruangmei will be the academic guest at 1 pm while Agriculture Production Commissioner Y Kikheto Sema will grace the valedictory session at 5 pm.
During the conference, election of new team office bearers for the tenure 2021-2023 will also be conducted for which three-member election commission including Medo Chirhah as commissioner and Lima Jamir and Mughato Yepthomi as members has been tasked with the responsibility.

The election code of conduct will be notified by early next week, while the election will be conducted from 2:30 pm to 4:30 pm on the main day, he said.
On the Electoral College, he informed that out of the 40 affiliated colleges, 38 full-fledged colleges will have two voting rights each. (Page News Service)