19th NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy 2018 to commence today


Kohima, September 21: The 19th edition of NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy organised by Angami Students’ Union (ASU) on the theme “Goal for Peace” will commence from Saturday at Kohima Local Ground (Khuochiezie).
Rising Star, Mizoram and Asufii Christian Institute, Senapati will play the inaugural match at 2 p.m., which will be witnessed by Minister for PWD Tongpang Ozukum as special invitee.
The tournament is an annual feature in honour and in remembrance of Late Kekuojalie Sachu of Kohima village and Late Vikhozo Yhoshü of Kigwema village, who were victims to the indiscriminate firings of the Armed Police from Alichen on March 20, 1986 when the students’ fraternity were on peaceful duty call of the Naga Students’ Federation to register Nagas resentment against the state government’s decision to the extension of Disturbed Area Belt from 5KM to 20KM along the Indo-Myanmar Border and also against the induction of Indian Police Service cadres into the state of Nagaland.
Altogether, 47 teams from Kohima, Dimapur, Zunheboto, Phek, Mizoram and Manipur will vie for the coveted champion title, which will go on till October 20.
The organizing committee extended invitation to all the victims of 20 March 1986 incident, ASU formers office bearers, well wishers, schools and colleges in and around Kohima to the inaugural function.
All the team managers and coaches are required to report at the ground for technical briefing at 10:30 a.m. on September 22.
Solidarity message will be delivered by NSF president Kesosul Christopher Ltu while organizing committee convenor Voto Neikha will deliver welcome address.
The inaugural function will be chaired by ASU president Visako Rino while ASU Games & Sports secretary Meguo Ratsa will administer oath to the teams.
The cash awards are: Champion – Rs. 2 lakh, Runners-up: Rs. 1.2 lakh, semi finalist: Rs. 30,000 each, Quarter Finalist: Rs 15,000 each, Player of the Tournament: Scooty, Best Custodian, Best Midfielder, Best Defender and Highest Scorer – Rs. 10,000 each.
The organizing committee informed that entry ticket for spectators is fixed at Rs. 30 till the initial rounds and Rs. 50 from quarter-finals. Students in uniforms after the normal school hour and also for the senior citizens and PwDs would be given free entry, they said.
(Page News Service)