15th FC visit: Nagaland places Rs 7928.43 cr requirement for overall development

15th FC visit: Nagaland places Rs 7928.43 cr  requirement for overall development
Deputy Chief Minister, Y Patton receiving the Chairman of the 15th FC, Nand Kishore Singh on arrival at the Kohima helipad.

Kohima, November 27: The Nagaland Government has sought an amount of Rs 7928.43 crore for the overall development of the State during the period of Fifteenth Finance Commission starting 2020-21 to 2024-25.
According to a memorandum of the State government submitted through the Finance Department to the team of Fifteenth Finance Commission, out of the total requirement an amount of Rs 707.10 crore will be needed annually for repair and maintenance of infrastructural assets which amounts to 3535.50 crore for five year period under 35 departments.
The department wise requirement include: Roads & Bridges – Rs 350 cr, Housing – Rs 30 cr, CAWD – Rs 15 cr, Police Engineering Project – Rs 25 cr, Education – Rs 40 cr, Medical – Rs 20 cr, PHE – Rs 10 cr, Power – Rs 60 cr, Nagaland State Transport – Rs 7 cr, Information & Public Relations – Rs 5 cr, Jails – Rs 7 cr, Fire & Emergency Services – Rs 3.50 cr, Tourism – Rs 10 cr, Art & Culture – Rs 5 cr, Land Resources – Rs 10 cr, Treasuries & Accounts – Rs 5 cr, Geology & Mining – Rs 7.50 cr, Youth Resources & Sports – Rs 10 cr, Agri & Allied Departments – Rs 10 cr, Supplementing of deficient training infrastructure of the Industrial Training Institutes in Nagaland – Rs 3.60 cr, Technical Education – Rs 10 cr, Excise – Rs 3 cr, Home Guards – – Rs 2 cr, Village Guards – Rs 3 cr, Higher Education – Rs 5 cr, Mechanical – Rs 3 cr, Law & Justice – Rs 5 cr, Forest – Rs 10 cr, Veterinary & Animal Husbandry – Rs 5 cr, Sericulture – Rs 5 cr, New and Renewable Energy – Rs 5 cr, Printing & Stationery – Rs 3 cr, Irrigation – Rs 8 cr, State Legislature – Rs 1.50 cr and Civil Supplies – Rs 5 cr.
Another Rs 4392.93 crore with annual requirement of Rs 878.59 crore would be required for critical infrastructure development under 14 departments, which include New Raj Bhavan – Rs 400 cr, Housing – Rs 427 cr, GA Buildings (CAWD) – Rs 205 cr, School – Rs 720 cr, Hospitals – Rs 100 cr, New High Court Complex, Kohima – Rs 194.84 cr, High Education – Rs 2560 cr, Tourism – Rs 120 cr, Civil Aviation (Small landing strips) – Rs 90 cr, Fire Stations – Rs 60 cr, Village Guards – Rs 25 cr, Development of Underdevelopment Areas – Rs 250 cr, Strengthening of Power Sector through Generation projects – Rs 1115.59 crore and Establishment of 4th NAP HQ – Rs 425 cr.
Fifteenth Finance Commission led by the Chairman Nand Kishore Singh are in Kohima on a three-day official visit starting today to hold talks with different government agencies, civil societies and tribal hohos on the requirements of the State for the period 2020-21 to 2024-25.
Beside others, the 14 member team of the Commission also includes Member Dr. Anoop Singh, Member Secretary Arvind Mehta, Joint Secretaries Mukhmeet S. Bhatia and Ravi Kota, Economic Advisor Antony Cyriac and Director & OSD to Chairman 15th FC Bharat Bhusan Garg.
On their arrival, Deputy Chief Minister Y. Patton and Minister for Planning & Coordination and Land Revenue, Neiba Kronu, Minister for Agriculture, G. Kaito Aye and Minister for Soil and Water Conservation, Women and Child Development Kashiho Sangtam and high ranking state bureaucrats led by Chief Secretary, Binchilo Thong DGP T John Longkumer received them.
The team visited World War-II cemetery at Kohima and paid homage at the war memorial.
Since afternoon, the Commission had closed door meetings with representatives of the Rural Local Bodies that is Village Council Members and Village Development Boards from Chuchuyimlang Village Mokokchung, Nagaland State VDB Association, Moya Village Council, Kohima Village Council, Lapa Village Council Mon and VDB women members of Khuzama and Kohima Village. They also met with representatives of the Urban Local Bodies – Kohima, Dimapur and Mokokchung Municipal Councils, Tuensang and Mon Town Council and Tribal Hohos – Chakhesang Public Organisation, Eastern Naga Public Organisation, Eastern Naga Women Organisation, Ao Senden, Angami Public Organisation, Sumi Hoho, Lotha Hoho and ENSF.
On Wednesday, the Commission will have meetings with the Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio and some of his cabinet colleagues, Chief Secretary and the State Government Officials in the morning, with representatives of the Political Parties – NDPP, NPF, BJP, NPCC, JD(U), NPP, NCP and LJP in the afternoon and with representatives of Trade, Industries & Commerce in the Conference Hall of the Chief Secretary, Nagaland Civil Secretariat.
On the third day of their visit, the Commission will make a field visit to Touphema Tourist Village in the morning and will then proceed to Imphal by helicopters.
(Page News Service)