Sunday, June 20, 2021
Top Stories

15 pairs of Passenger Special trains to start running from Tuesday

train services

Dimapur, May 11: Ministry of Railways has decided to gradually restart passenger train services by initially starting with running of special trains from May 12 in specific routes.
Fifteen pairs of special train would connect 15 important cities of the country with New Delhi station only. Ticket booking of these special trains can be done only through IRCTC website (
Railway and IRCTC authorized agents are not permitted to book tickets for journey by these special trains for the time being. Railway PRS & ticket booking counters at station would remain closed and no tickets including platform tickets would be sold.
In NFR portion 2 Passenger special trains would start running with limited stoppages. 12423 / 12424 Dibrugarh – New Delhi – Dibrugarh (Daily) Passenger special will run as per public time table timings from New Delhi with effect from May 12 and from Dibrugarh with effect from May 14 with stoppages only at Mariani, Dimapur, Lumding, Guwahati, Kokrajhar, New Jalpaiguri, Katihar Jn, Barauni Jn, Danapur, Pd. Dd Upadhyaya Jn, Prayagraj Jn, and Kanpur Central stations during its both way journeys. 20501/ 20502 Agartala – New Delhi – Agartala (Weekly) Passenger special would run as per public time table timings from New Delhi with effect from May 18 and from Agartala with effect from May 20 (Wednesday) with stoppages only at Badarpur Jn, Guwahati, Kokrajhar, New Jalpaiguri, Katihar Jn, Barauni Jn, Patliputra, Pd. Dd Upadhyaya Jn and Kanpur Central stations during its both way journey.
The fare structure of these special trains would be like regular time-tabled Rajdhani express train / or as per the regular time-tabled train category excluding the catering charges. Passenger with confirmed journey tickets will be only be allowed to enter the station.
It is mandatory for all passengers to wear mask and undergo thermal screening before entering station. Only asymptomatic passengers will be allowed to board the train.
Online cancellations are permitted upto 24 hrs before the scheduled departure of the train. Cancellation charges will be 50% of the fare.
Maximum advance reservation period (ARP) for journey by these trains are 7 days only. Only person with confirm journey tickets can undertake journey. No RAC or Wait listed tickets are allowed, neither on-board ticketing by ticket checking staff is permitted. Current booking, Tatkal booking and premium Tatkal booking are also not allowed.
Moreover, catering charges will not be included in the fare. There will be no provision of e-catering and pre-paid meal booking. However, IRCTC would provide only limited amount of eatables and drinking water only on payment basis if asked for. No linen and blankets will be provided to any passenger. All such information would be available to passenger during the time of ticket booking itself at the website.
These special trains are in additions to the Shramik Special Trains which are in operations from various locations of the country as per request of the respective state governments. (Page News Service)