Wednesday, September 22, 2021

14 people awarded 1st edition of B&K Memorial Awards

Dimapur, January 31: Fourteen people were awarded during the first edition of Bendangnungsang Longkumer & Er. Khriesavizo Metha Memorial Awards that was held today here at Local Ground, Diphupar Village.
Categorized as Academic Excellence Awards and Acknowledgement Awards, the awards were given in memory of Bendangnungsang Longkumer & Er. Khriesavizo Metha who lost their lives during the uproar surrounding ULB elections in early 2017.
Vekhosayi Nyekha, JCC’s Convenor on the occasion said that though the deaths were moments of great loss, their sacrifice but will go in the history of the Nagas for generations to come. He reminded that the goal of the JCC is still not achieved but assured that it wouldn’t stop until the rights of the Nagas are won.
He added that though the previous government had withdrawn the women reservation bill, the present government is still to make amendments to the Municipal Act 2001 and asked the government to do the needful for a right and peaceful society.
Nukshi Longkumer, brother of late Bendangnungsang said that they still hold the same faith and have the same stand and despite pain, their sacrifices haven’t gone in vain but have protected the rights of the Nagas.
Keduowhelie Avio Metha, brother of Er. Khriesavizo said that the youths of the Naga society in particular has much challenges and this is time to promote a secure future and continue the pursuit for excellence.
Previously, talking about the awards, Pitovi Achumi, President, DNSU had said that the awards are not an attempt to choose the best but to acknowledge people who are bringing changes in the society through their contributions.
The winners of this year’s awards are Vivotronuo Sorhie (HSLC topper) , Benrithung L. Jungio (HSSLC Arts topper), Marina Yashmin (HSSLC Commerce topper) and Virienuo Emilia Solo (HSSLC Science topper), Imtijunglo Longchar (Literature Award), Dreamz Unlimited (Art Award), Alobo Naga (Music Award), Kivi Zhimomi (Sports Award), Ilandlo (Entrepreneur Award), YouthNet (Promoter Award), Kohima Orphanage & Destitute Home (Humanitarian Award), Project 72 Hours (Green Award), Rongsen Jonathan (Young Achiever Award) and Hope Café & Bakery (Special Mention). (Page News Service)