Thursday, September 23, 2021

11 persons to be awarded B&K Memorial Awards

Dimapur, January 25: Eleven people will be awarded during the first edition of Bendangnungsang Longkumer & Er. Khriesavizo Metha Memorial Awards that is set to be held on January 31 from 5.30 pm onwards here at Local Ground, Diphupar Village.
Talking to media persons about the upcoming event at Diphupar Naga Students’ Union’s (DNSU) office, Diphupar, the convenor of the organizing committee Dr. T Lima Jamir said that the programme has been initiated to remember the day the two martyrs who laid their lives for the greater cause of the Nagas as a whole and protecting the Article 371 (A).
He assured that the platform would not be allowed to be used for political gains by anyone though politicians are welcome to attend the ceremony.
He said that though the first memorial awards is entirely the initiative of the DNSU and other associated bodies and well wishers from Diphupar, there is a proposal to make this an annual event and the government would be approached to create a fund for the awards.
Pitovi Achumi, President, DNSU said that the awards have been categorized in two groups (Academic Excellence Awards and Acknowledgement Awards) and while one will be awarded to the students from Diphupar who would secure a place in the top 20 of the HSLC and HSSLC examinations, while the other would be awarded to the people who made a difference in the society through their contributions in diverse fields like music, literature, entrepreneurship, art etc from all over the state.
He also mentioned that the awards are meant to be viewed as acknowledging the achievers and not choosing the best.
He said that ‘Academic Excellence Awards’ is created to honour as Er. Khriesavizo Metha was a student leader.
Chairman of Lotha Community Diphupar, Zuchomo Mozhui shared the experiences during the uproar surrounding ULB elections in early 2017 that ultimately cost the lives of the two young people.
Isabel Solo, member of the organizing community, Kikheto Sumi, President DNYO, and Grizel, DNSU General Secretary were the others who were present during the interaction with the media.
The different awards that will be presented during the ceremony besides the meritorious students are Music Award, Sports Award, Literature Award, Humanitarian Award, Entrepreneur Award, Promoter Award, Green Award, Young Achiever Award, Art Award, Educationist Award, and Special Mention Award.
(Page News Service)